SSD Help..

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by traveller69, Feb 16, 2017.

  1. traveller69 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #1
    Hey all, I have a top spec 15" late 2013 MacBook Pro retina with.. 16Gb RAM, 1Tb SSD, and a 2.6 Ghz CPU. Can I put a 2Tb SSD in it, and if so what kind?? Thanks.
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    You're limited to what you can put in there, given that apple uses proprietary SSDs for the MBP

    Check out this place for a potential upgrade https://eshop.macsales.com/shop/ssd/owc/macbook-pro-retina-display/2013-2014-2015
     
  3. traveller69, Feb 16, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2017

    traveller69 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #3
    Thanks maflynn, but I've been to the OWC site and they only sell 1Tb max drives, with no other info. I'm not even sure if there's a 2Tb SSD suitable for this Mac.

    EDIT.. OWC only sell a 1Tb max SSD for this, so9 I need to keep looking.
     
  4. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #4
    There is currently not an internal solution for you. You could do a external USB3 enclosure with a SSD, but it would not be as convenient.
     
  5. Mindinversion macrumors 6502

    Mindinversion

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #5
  6. tubeexperience macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    #6
    No you can't.

    The biggest SSD available for that model is 1TB.
     
  7. traveller69 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #7
    Any reason why it won't work with a larger SSD?
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    It is not so much that it would not work, but the fact that nobody makes one larger than 1TB.
     
  9. kbk75 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #9
    AFAIK, you are at the limit with your existing system. The pre-retina models, with their standard SATA connections can take up to a 4TB SSD currently (with bigger options on the way).

    The ability to have a 2TB SSD played no small role in my upgrading from my 2012 rMBP to my 2016 tMBP.
     
  10. jerryk macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #10
    A few issues.
    1. There is one 2 TB M.2 SSD available. Its the Samsung 960 Pro, around $1,300. But, you cannot use it with a MacBook Pro because apple uses its own protocol, not industry standard NVMe.
    2. The only apple protocol M.2 format SSDs come in 128, 256, 512, and 1TB sizes. The suppliers are Apple parts shops via units pulled from the old MacBook Pros, or fell off the back of the truck, and sold on eBay; or OWC via their reverse engineered units.
    3. No one has every tried an M.2 unit over 1TB, so no one knows if OSX supports the unit.
     
  11. Mindinversion macrumors 6502

    Mindinversion

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #11
    LOL, I didn't think they were on m.2 in 2013.

    And I don't think the standard is proprietary, I think it's just an older SATA variant.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-3011699/sata-ssd-pcie-ssd.html

    Apparently a PCI-E [aka NVME] drive will work with a SATA m.2 slot, though it's performance will be reduced. I can tell you FROM EXPERIENCE that a sata M.2 will NOT work in a PCI-E slot, however [I found this out first hand yesterday after replacing my garbage XZ170 Gigabyte motherboard for an Asus Maximus IX formula]

    So yea, you can put a 2 TB in! here's the link

    https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-960-...=UTF8&qid=1487633542&sr=8-2&keywords=2+TB+m.2

    And while you're at it, you wanna buy me one? I have an empty PCI-E M.2 slot on my motherboard that could REALLY use it ;)
     

Share This Page