SSD in 09 Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Transporteur, Aug 17, 2009.

  1. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hello,

    I just ordered the new octad Mac Pro and want to put in a OCZ Vertex SSD as soon as it arrives.

    What I am now confused of, is where to put the SSD.
    Fitting it into one of the sleds won't be a problem with one of these mounting adapters.

    But if I want to save the 4 bays for storage drives, are there any issues by fitting the ssd into one of the optical bays? My Pro comes with just one superdrive, so space won't be a problem.
    The superdrives are SATA ones, right? So the cables (that hopefully are already there) should also the SSD at full speed, don't they?
     
  2. 22Hertz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #2
    You can place the SSD anywhere your imagination and space allow.
     
  3. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    Many are placing SSD's or additional mechanical drives in the empty optical bay. That's not a problem. Anywhere you can fit it would be fine, as it's not susceptible to vibration.

    The Optical drive in the '09MP is a SATA model, as the IDE/PATA port is gone on that system. So you have 6x ports total for drives (4x for the sleds, & 2x for the optical bays). Rather easy, so given the base models have a single optical drive and single HDD, you have 3x sleds available, and 1x at the empty optical bay to use without making any changes to drives & locations.
     
  4. Transporteur thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Excellent!

    And the cables are already there, so I don't have to buy any additional ones for the SSD, right?
     
  5. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #5
    No, as the cable uses a backplane connector (data + power). :)
     
  6. Transporteur thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Which is even better! :)

    Thank you very much nanofrog!
     
  7. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #7
    :cool: NP. :)
     
  8. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #8
    I recently installed a Corsair P256 as my boot drive, and... WOW! I've never seen programs launch so quickly -- Photoshop launch is almost instant. MS Office, which is an all-around dog, loads quickly like it's sitting in RAM.

    So far I'm very pleased with the SSD technology. It's a little pricey right now, but the benefits are immediately obvious. I am keeping all applications and home folders on the SSD and all file storage on my RAID 5 array. Couldn't be happier! :)
     
  9. Transporteur thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Will be doing the same as the parts arrive here. Unfortunately Apple takes a little longer for students deliverys than for the others, but as it's (obviously :rolleyes:) not my only computer I can live with that.
    Just looking forward for a model without any issues like broken power supplys or something like that.

    Got the 120Gb Vertex here in the Uk for about 300 Pounds. Pretty pricy, but a very good investment I guess.
    120Gb is by far enough for my system, programs and home folder.
    The rest of my data finds place on a Raid 0 Array.
    A Raid 5 would have been nice for a little redundancy, but the Apple Raid card is way overpriced, so i have to switch to a Raid 0 which is fine though.


    I just read about the Corsair SSDs and their automatic garbage collection. Do they even work with OS X?
    Should i reconsider the bought of the Vertex? I will be able to cancel the order within this week.
     

Share This Page