SSD in Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Number-Six, Aug 1, 2016.

  1. Number-Six macrumors 6502

    Number-Six

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    #1
    Hi

    I would like to know if it's possible to add an SSD drive to a Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007) ?

    MacSales is returning only one result for that model for an SSD (2TB), which I find weird

    thanks,
     
  2. scott.n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    #2
    Yes, it's possible. Any off-the-shelf SSD should work (though you will also need a 3.5-2.5 adapter). I recommend any brand over OWC; Samsung or Crucial are best.
     
  3. kohlson, Aug 1, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2016

    kohlson macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #3
    I believe these Mac Pros may have been SATA-1 (1.5 Gbps). No matter - the currently available 2.5-inch SSD drives are compatible.
    (edit - swing and a miss: as pointed out below, it's SATA-2 at 3.0 Gbps. My bad.)
     
  4. chenfromchina macrumors newbie

    chenfromchina

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Location:
    China
    #4
    Yes, it's possible. I have 2 Samsung SSDs running on my mac pro 3.1, they work flawlessly.
     
  5. Number-Six thread starter macrumors 6502

    Number-Six

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    #5
    Why do you say that, bad experiences with OWC ?
     
  6. jabbawok macrumors regular

    jabbawok

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    #6
    I've used PCI-E SSDs in my Mac Pro 3,1 and 4,1. They're not throttled by the poor sata performance of the Mac Pro. The 1,1 and 2,1 don't have PCI-E 2 so you wouldn't get the full benefit but I think it would out perform the sata drive.
    http://www.flexxmemory.co.uk/apple-...120-adapter/?gclid=COaeqNfkoM4CFdQ_GwodRMAIfg
     
  7. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #7
    You're only going to get about 250MB/sec with SATA 1.5...but I guess that's better than HDDs.

    You can also get a PCIe SSD, which is a little pricier, but you will get full speed (and then some)

    OR you can get a PCIe SSD adapter like this and put your SSD on it and get full SATAIII speeds.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA1JM1194254
     
  8. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #8

    Do a Search and you'll see. My experience with them has been horrible:mad:

    Lou
     
  9. Number-Six thread starter macrumors 6502

    Number-Six

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
  10. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #10
    get one of those apricorn velocity cards mount the drive on that stick it in a free pcie slot just my 2 cents
     
  11. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #11
    ^^^^Yes, that's certainly another option, probably the best option. The Apricorn Solo x2 works in 1,1 & 2,1 cMPs - and it's attractively priced.

    Lou
     
  12. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #12
    id like to point out that all Mac Pros that have SATA are SATA Rev 2 aka SATA 3Gbs

    upload_2016-8-1_21-55-47.png
     
  13. jbarley, Aug 1, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2016

    jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #13
    Full SATAIII speeds, I think not.
    This is a direct quote from Apricorn...

    "NOTE: Early model Mac Pro’s 1,1 and 2,1 have PCIe 1.0 expansion slots. Performance of the Solo will be limited by the PCIe bus to about 250MB/s max. Your Mac model can be found by doing an "About This Mac", and then "More Info".

    These adapters all require a PCIe 2.0 expansion slot to get SATAIII speeds.
    Plus the Sedna adapter you linked to does not list Apple OS X as a supported system.
     
  14. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #14
    Alright, jeez.

    It works on the 3,1 Mac Pro and up. I had an Apricorn before.
    The one I linked was a quickie search just to show it's possible.
     
  15. TzunamiOSX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #15
    With a PCIe SSD like the SM951 you will get around 750 MB/s in a 1,1

    This is the best way to get more than 250 MB/s. With the most carrier cards you get only around 250 MB/s in a 1,1
     
  16. TonyK macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #16
    To the OP, my MP 2008 and my wife's MP 2009 are running Crucial SSD's, both in Icy Docks, without issue. If I had wanted to get the fastest times I would have opted for PCIe based cards to house the SSDs but for my needs this is good enough.

    Just get the biggest SSD you can afford and need. I have a 500GB SSD and still have 246GB free. Of course my iTunes and photos reside on standard HDs in the system.

    Edit: addressed to the OP and not Scott. Pointing out that it is possible.
     
  17. Number-Six thread starter macrumors 6502

    Number-Six

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    #17
    Thanks!
     

Share This Page