ssd in mbp

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by odraude, Jul 5, 2012.

  1. odraude, Jul 5, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2012

    odraude macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Location:
    Near You
    #1
    Hey guys i have a question.. i want to upgrade my computer with a ssd, but i want to replace the optical drive with it, aand put the main os on the solid drive, and use the default 500g drive for storage...

    so, how i configurate raid in order to have the os in the solid and the media on the other drive??

    thanks
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    What you want to do has nothing to do with RAID.
     
  3. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #3
    RAID has nothing to do with this process.

    But in order to install the OS on SSD, you need to start Lion Recovery.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    I think the OP wants to make it a JBOD but since the MBP doesn't support JDBOD. Since RAID-0 will do what he wants - make both drives appear as a single volume, he's asking about it
     
  5. odraude thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Location:
    Near You
    #5
    hey thank maflynn, that is exactly what i want to do 2 my machine
    , if i do it with one solid and the other the one thats come with the machine, that will reduce the performance?'
    sorry my sintaxis since i dont handle english very well..

    btw whats OP??
     
  6. Badrottie Suspended

    Badrottie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    Orginal Poster :apple:
     
  7. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Do you really need them set up in raid? I can't imagine it's an easy process, and certainly don't think it would be the optimal solution. Why not just have them as sseparate volumes?
     
  8. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #9
    Is there a reason you want to set it up in RAID mode?
    Why not just use the HDD as storage?
     

Share This Page