ssd installed, can't restart flashing ? folder please help!

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by Cimac, Feb 3, 2018.

  1. Cimac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    #1
    Hi
    I have a mac unibody 7.1 with lates osx version,16gb ram installed upgrading to kingstone v400 ssd 120gb sata 3 internal,
    I formatted the ssd as per instructions GUiD, partition 1, extended journal, erased all via mac disk utility (tried it on 2Macs many times) and Sata cable,
    The new ssd is recognized externally via sata cable and I can transfer files..
    After installing it inside I tried to restart with commad R or command R option, I get to a flashing folder logo with ? mark.... I can't proceed to download the new system over the net (preferred).
    Installing the old hdd externally via sata cable it will restart normally...very slow btw...(reason for upgrading) using disk utility I can see and re format the new ssd while installed inside..
    I need to solve this issue and download a new operating system...from scratch
    Any help ?
    Thanks in advance :) !!
    Cheers!
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Try replacing the internal SATA ribbon cable. Those are frequent failures here, and that will likely fix your issues.

    The Internet recovery boot (restart while holding Option-Command-r) should bring up a spinning globe, and NOT the normal Apple icon. If your SSD is erased (blank), there's no system at all, which would be why the Command-r boot won't work. But, Internet recovery should --- again, that's Option-Command-r
    If the ribbon cable has failed, then you won't likely get everything to work until you replace the cable.
     
  3. Cimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    #3
    Hi DeltaMac,
    Thanks for your reply,
    I don't think is the ribbon cable : if I reinstall the original hdd the machine starts up with no problems...
    Perhaps a non compatible ssd?? Or something wrong with the format process?
    Thanks :)
     
  4. ApfelKuchen macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Location:
    Between the coasts
    #4
    Here's something to consider - The 2010s did not come factory-capable to use Internet Recovery (Command + Option + R). There was an EFI firmware update that needed to be installed. So, if your Mac never had that firmware update, Internet Recovery won't work. https://support.apple.com/HT202313

    Also, please clarify - you said you tried booting with Command + R and got the folder with question mark? That could happen if you don't have a Recovery partition on that drive. Now, a proper macOS installation should create that partition, but maybe it was inadvertently deleted.

    I think you'd be best off creating a bootable USB installer, and erasing/reinstalling the drive from that. https://support.apple.com/HT201372

    (Or you could boot from an external drive that contains the installer and choose the internal drive as the target for the installer.)

    In the end, it might still be a bad cable.
     
  5. Cimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    #5
    Hi, thanks for your reply
    I'm sure I got the latest mac os system installed, therefore I guess I should have the option to internet download. (I get it with the old hdd and mac os)

    If the internal ribbon cable was faulty why does it read the original hdd with mac os and restart with no issues at all?
    If I put back the ORIGINAL unformatted hdd, inside or externally the MacBook starts and work perfectly!
    With the original hdd I can restart with control R and get the window with the 4(?) Options to download or reinstall via usb..
    The problem is only with the new erased and formatted Kingstone sdd.
    I can't get to the command R options window with it... either if installed inside or outside via usb sata adapter.
    I only get to the flashing folder with "?" mark....
    I'll try to create and usb installer first, leaving the ribbon cable as last chance...
    Any suggestions? :)
    Thanks !
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    This sounds like a dumb question (because I'm a dumb guy), but...

    ... do you have a copy of the OS installed on the SSD?

    Additional questions:
    How large is the old internal hard drive?
    How large is the new SSD?
     
  7. hallux macrumors 68030

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #7
    Other people have thought the same. With a platter drive, the cable is able to handle the data transfer, even if questionable, but with the SSD the higher speeds of the drive result in failure to perform as you're seeing.
     
  8. Cimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    #8
    Hi , the new ssd is empty and formatted, the old hdd has a working updated mac os installed
    --- Post Merged, Feb 4, 2018 ---
    Ok, looks like I'll need to check the cable... best place to find a replacement?
    Thx
     
  9. hallux macrumors 68030

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #9
    Talk to the Genius Bar. Apple was replacing them free for a while if I recall. It's no longer on the list of repair extension programs but it's not an expensive fix (saw a post from someone in Australia that spent under $100 AUD for the repair). If you can get the cable, it's not much more difficult (if at all) than swapping in the SSD.

    ifixit has the cable for $45 - MacBook Pro 13" Unibody (Mid 2009/Mid 2010) Hard Drive Cable (922-9062, 821-0814-A) With Bracket / New - iFixit

    I would definitely check with Apple first, might come out cheaper.
     
  10. Honza1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    US
    #10
    I understand that net recovery is convenient, but if you have some hardware issues, it may not work and you cannot figure out anything. This way you are blind.
    I prefer to create bootable USB disk and boot of the disk (yeah, it will be slow) and install from there. I usually have USB lying around just for that purpose (8GB USB is nearly free today), just in case something happens to one of my (extended) family Macks.
    Once you boot in installer, you can check the disk first and see, if it is accessible and responding as expected in DiskUtility. If it passes verify disk, at least it can be read.
    Alternative is to connect your old HD in external USB dock and boot off that one (it will be also slow) and you can try out a lot of things from there, including copying data to the internal SSD. And you can install fresh OS from the externally connected HD to SSD without any issues.
    Replacing that ribbon cable may be good idea anyway... It is cheap fix, even though since you are installing only 120GB SSD I suspect your budget is limited. I would go for 500Gb+ SSD today, they are down to $150 or so.
     
  11. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #11
    OP wrote:
    "Hi , the new ssd is empty and formatted, the old hdd has a working updated mac os installed"

    Again, I'm a dumb guy, but you can't boot from the internal drive -- SSD or not -- until you have the OS installed on it.

    Suggestion:
    1. Boot from the external drive
    2. Download CarbonCopyCloner (it's free to download and use).
    3. Open Disk Utility and erase the internal drive to Mac OS extended with journaling enabled
    4. Quit DU and open CCC
    5. Put your source drive (the external you're booted from) on the left in CCC's window
    6. Put the target drive (the internal SSD) to the right of the source drive
    7. Accept all of CCC's defaults and clone the drive.

    What happens if you try this?
     
  12. Honza1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    US
    #12
    Good procedure I would use, if I wanted to clone existing system. I think OP wants to install clean system though; but if you look on my suggestion above - it is to start on external drive and install OSX to SSD from there. That should work also...

    But actually, what OP is trying to do SHOULD work. You can boot new macs without system anywhere - recent macs have enough smarts in firmware to boot and connect to internet, download OSX from Apple servers, and install OSX that way. What you get is clean OSX default for that mac, I believe. Check here: https://9to5mac.com/2011/07/20/what-is-os-x-lion-internet-recovery-and-how-does-it-work/ and note, that "recent" is 2011 ;-)

    OP has been trying to do this, but cannot get Internet recovery started and is getting drive error (I believe).
     
  13. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #13
    Honza wrote:
    "OP has been trying to do this, but cannot get Internet recovery started and is getting drive error (I believe)."

    Patient to doctor:
    "Doctor, it hurts when I do this"
    Doctor to patient:
    "Then... don't do that."

    The OP should STOP trying to use internet recovery to re-install the OS.
    Instead, he should download the full installer (if he doesn't already have it).
    Then, use "Boot Buddy" (free app) to create a BOOTABLE USB installer on a flash drive 8 or 16gb.
    Then, boot from the flashdrive, erase the internal drive, then re-install the OS.

    He -ALREADY HAS- a "bootable to the finder" drive -- the external drive.
    Everything he needs to do can be "done from" that drive.
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    The 7,1 doesn't come with internet recovery from factory. If OP never update the firmware, it won't work.

    https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1480?locale=en_US

    And so far, everything he said points to that he try to boot a Mac without OS installed. Follow Fishrrman's suggestion should fix the issue in no time.
     
  15. Cimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    #15
    Awaiting for a new ribbon cable to arrive...
    I'll keep u posted
    Thanks!
    :)
     
  16. Cimac, Feb 7, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2018

    Cimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    #16
    Got a new "made in china" ribbon cable today off eBay.. installed and guess what: it doesn't work!
    Can't read any hard drives... now I get the flashing folder with "?" mark with both the new ssd and the original hdd(with osx installed ) I'll send the crappy cable back...
    Is there any chance of ssd incompatibility??
    I'm not an expert on macs and programs, so please be patient... :)
    I'll try to create a usb boot and follow the instructions above.
    Is it possible to start with the original osx (externally mounted or vice versa), fresh internet download (I can get there easily) and use the ssd as target for the new download?? Will this affect or erase my old hdd with osx? I get to the el captain internet download window, it says Apple will check for eligibility before download, that's fine...can I choose the ssd as target for download after this point? Or it will download onto the old hdd?

    Thanks!
    :)
     
  17. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #17
    I believe the solution is at post #11

    https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...ing-folder-please-help.2104399/#post-25783722

    And if you want to start from scratch, you can still boot from the original HDD via the USB port. And then just run the OS installer, and select the internal SSD as the destination.
     
  18. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #18
    OP wrote:
    "Can't read any hard drives... now I get the flashing folder with "?" mark with both the new ssd and the original hdd(with osx installed ) I'll send the crappy cable back..."

    The "?" doesn't mean "there's no drive found".
    What it DOES mean is that there is NO BOOTABLE COPY OF THE OS FOUND.

    Do either of those two drives work when connecting them externally via USB?

    If they DO work via USB3, but DO NOT WORK when installed inside, THAT could indicate a "bad ribbon cable".

    But if you get the same "?" when connected externally, again, it means "no bootable OS on the drive".

    Did you read my post 11 above?
    Did you at least TRY to do what I suggested?
     
  19. Cimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    #19
    Hi Fishrrman,
    thanks for your tips, both drives work fine via usb, I have no much time to try at the moment..I'll do leter on...
    Thx :)
     
  20. Cimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    #20
    Ok new ribbon cable installed, same issue with ssd,
    I do understand probably I need to boot via usb or carbon copy for simplicity..
    I'm using my old hdd with os el captain connectd via sata adapter, stat up with opt+com+r or comm+r I get to the recovery window, select reinstall os, (el captain offered),select the new installed and formatted ssd as target, named new ssd ..system ask for mac id and password, after doing that I get a message: " this apple id has not been used before" review your accont.... and I can't go any further...
    I can see my macbook on my Apple id account as well my other Macs, I downloaded updates on it, never used apple store account for online purchase...Perhaps reason for the review?(no cc or address)
    This mac is second hand, I didn't registered with the factory os or download updates for it
    Before trying carbon copy as suggested should I give it a go updating my Apple store account?
    Using carbon copy and re installing the system later on will be equivalent to a fresh reinstall? I'm worring to copy my data,traces of it or ids on it and possible sell the machine....
    Thanks
     
  21. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #21
    OK
    Yes - absolutely go to the App Store, and make sure your AppleID account is current...
    Boot to your drive (the old one that you know works), and go to your App Store. Make a purchase. It can be something free, a game or something. You can't make a purchase (which would include "free") if your AppleID account is not correct.
    When you are successful with that, then you should be allowed to connect and download the OS X system.
    This would be REALLY easy if you would download the system that you want to use, either through the App Store (if you have ever downloaded an OS X system through the App Store), or through some "alternate" method. Once you have the installer app downloaded, you can use THAT to create a bootable installer, ideally on a USB flash drive. Once you have that bootable installer, you can reinstall, or wipe and reinstall, whenever you like, without having to wait for the full system download. (and it won't ask you at that point for your AppleID until you complete the setup. :cool: )
     
  22. Cimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    #22
    Ok! Good news,
    I forgot I had another apple id account... I updated it, used the old hhd via usb adapter for start up, option+command+R, chose osx install on the new ssd, agree..boom! Done!!!!
    From shut down it takes only 16 seconds to boot!!! Faster then my 2016 mcb air!!! Very impressive, I had crucial 16gb ram installed but the ssd make an Huge difference!
    It's great to see a cheap second hand 7yrs old machine working that fast with a cheap update...
    Should I go with high Sierra? Is it worth? I got only 120gb ssd at the moment but planning to possibly add a secondary larger ssd in the future...
    Any thoughts?
    Thanks for your support!! :) :)
     

Share This Page