SSD intel g2 - upgrade problem

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ramirezzz, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. ramirezzz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    Hi ther
    i have a intel g2 ssd (80mb)
    so im been on the intel www and download upgrade for my ssd.
    After upgrade check write speed on the AJA SYSTEM TEST and write speed is the same then before upgrade (about 80 mb/s)
    Where is the problem?
    why my ssd after upgrade no 100 mb/s write?
     
  2. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Cause you've got the 80GB version. Only the 160GB goes up to 100MB/s.
     
  3. ramirezzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    i have a:
    80G2GC and i think it's 100 mb/s after upgrade -
     
  4. ildondeigiocchi macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #4
    Highly unlikely. That must be your read speed. No 80GB versions have been able to get 100MB/s write. That's only possible with a 160Gb version ;)
     
  5. BillB50 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Bucks County, Pennsylvania
    #5
    From Intel's performance PDF:
    Intel® X18-M/X25-M SATA Solid State Drive -
    34 nm Product Line
    Model Codes: SSDSA1M080G2XX, SSDSA2M080G2XX, SSDSA1M160G2XX, SSDSA2M160G2XX Product Codes: SSDSA2MH080G2XX, SSDSA1MH080G2XX, SSDSA2MH160G2XX, SSDSA1MH160G2XX
     Available in 1.8” and 2.5” Form Factors  Capacity: 80 GB and 160 GB
     Uses Intel NAND flash memory Multi-Level Cell (MLC) components
     Read and Write IOPS Specifications (Iometer* Queue Depth 32)
    — Random 4 KB Reads: Up to 35 K IOPS
    — Random 4 KB Writes: 80GB - Upto6.6KIOPS
    160GB - Upto8.6KIOPS
     Bandwidth Performance Specifications
    — Sustained Sequential Read: Up to 250 MB/s
    — Sustained Sequential Write: — 80GB - Upto70MB/s
    -160GB-Upto100MB/s
     Latency Specifications:
    — Read: 65 μs
    — Write: 85 μs  Compatibility
    — Intel® SSD ToolBox Intel® SSD Optimizer
    — Intel® Matrix Storage Manager — SATA Revision 2.6 compliant, compatible with SATA 1.5 Gb/s and 3 Gb/s interface
    rates
    — ATA/ATAPI-7 Compliant
    — SSD Enhanced S.M.A.R.T. ATA feature set
    — Native Command Queuing (NCQ) command set
     Certifications and Declarations — UL*
    — CE* — C-Tick* — BSMI* — KCC* — Microsoft* WHQL — VCCI* — SATA-
     
  6. ramirezzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Poland
    #6

    hmm ok thanks...
     
  7. ramirezzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Poland
    #7
    no read i have 265 kb/s write 83 kb/s but im thinking (earlier) after upgrade it's is a 100 kb/s.

    I have 4 this ssd drive and im stripe iin the raid...
     
  8. ildondeigiocchi macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #8
    Wait a sec... Are you saying that you have of these SSDs in Raid 0? :eek: If that's the case then it's very plausible that you get 100MB/S write... for 4 SSDs that's even little:cool:
     
  9. ramirezzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Poland
    #9
    hehe i now that ;)
    now im done the test with aja system and 4 ssd in soft raid 0 give me
    WRITE: 312 MB/s
    READ: 586.2 MB/s
    butt im thinking all the time this g2 80gb has a 100 mb/s write ...
     
  10. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #10
    Your write speeds are what's expected for 4x 80GB G2 Intels in a stripe set (78MB/s * 4). The read however, are not (works out to 146.55 MB/s per drive). Granted, the ICH will throttle before you see what the drives are capable of (i.e. ICH9 & 10 families hit ~660MB/s max), so something's off IMO.

    What exact system are you using?
    (interested in the ICH model)
     
  11. ramirezzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Poland
    #11
    OSX 10.6 - it's any matters about 10.5 ?
     
  12. ramirezzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Poland
    #12
    In my MAC PRO 3.1 are ICH9 ?
     
  13. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #13
    Yes.
     
  14. ramirezzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Poland
    #14
    how turn it on ?
     
  15. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #15
    My 3x80GB SSD's max out at about 620MB/s. It's odd that a 4 drive stripe is maxing out at 586MB/s but it could be the test or it could be the ICH is getting so over-saturated that it's bogging down or something?!

    @ramirezzz, here's my AJA test... run the same test (1920x1080p 10-bit 1GB) and post your results.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #16
    Assuming it didn't activate automatically when you installed (clean) the OS, then check under Disk Utility.

    The 4x vs. 3x performance issue is really weird but as you've seen, it's real. 3x drives give an additional ~34MB/s faster. We know that OS X isn't optimized for SSD yet, and seems to be causing latency issues (saturates, throttles back, recovers,... in a cycle = "bogged down" as you describe).

    We'd need a 4x port PCIe SATA card to test that one (3.0Gb/s spec, and the same OS version). RAID cards aren't optimized either, and some combinations work well together, while others don't. The SATA card test would eliminate the additional components (system does the work, as it would on the ICH).
     
  17. ramirezzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Poland
    #17
     
  18. ramirezzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Poland
    #18
    Yes it's very strange ! im getting now a 3 ssd in stripe and have a 710 mb/s !!!
    and 4 was a 580 !!!
    it's fuc... strange...
    Now then im gonna sold my one ssd...
     
  19. ramirezzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Poland
    #19
    http://img8.imageshack.us/i/ajayn.jpg/
     
  20. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #20
    Nice.... and you only get 580MB/s with 4?

    If that's the case, then try a few more tests to make sure that it's not just this particular benchmark that likes or dislikes your configuration. Some AJA test turn out bizarre results with SSD's.
     
  21. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #21
    Windows to run HD Tach might help here, but I'd try pulling one of the drives, and test out 3x SSD's as you did.

    I think it will make an improvement as it did with your system. ;)
     
  22. ramirezzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Poland
    #22
    i think this aja system it's not a good test for a speed, or maybee it's not a similar speed with some aplications (photoshop etc.)
     

Share This Page