SSD optibay upgrade thoughts?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by chazfest, Dec 28, 2013.

1. chazfest macrumors newbie

chazfest

Hi all,
    I'm after some advice, and hopefully some user experiences from similar projects...

I've got a mid 2010 MacBook Pro - 2.4ghz core i5, 8gb RAM.
    I've currently got a 750gb 7,200rpm hdd installed, and I'm looking to add in an SSD by swapping out my superdrive for an optibay (or similar) caddy.

I'm a video editor and VFX artist, and I'm trying to squeeze out another year or so from my ageing MacBook. I'm hoping that by adding in a high spec SSD, I'll see general boosts in editing. I'll be using the new SSD solely as a boot drive, with OSX and my applications on it. I'll then pull my content from my freed up 7,200rpm HDD. Hopefully this will give me a boost in performance when editing.

I feel like I've settled on the Samsung 840 Pro 256gb as my SSD of choice now. The benchmarks are high, and reviews are great. It's a little pricey, but I could do with the performance boost.

I just have a couple of questions:

1) Am I likely to see any performance boosts by using the drive solely as my boot drive, for OS and apps? Obviously, the place I'd like to see a big boost in is my NLE. And I'm hoping that by splitting the load between 2 drives - OS/apps on SSD, and content on HDD, I'll reduce my current bottleneck, and thus speed up both the reading of my files when editing, and also the general performance of my machine. Any thoughts on how realistic this is?

2) I've heard that a lot of people choose to move their stock HDD over to the optibay, and stick the new SSD in the original HDD bay. Not sure why this is. Perhaps cooling reasons? Is it wise to do this?

Huge thanks in advance for any tips/thoughts/advice guys,

2. raptor402 macrumors 6502

Hi,

1. You'll definitely see a major performance jump. An SSD really gives your MacBook a fresh start.