SSD or i7?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by tigersoul, Oct 12, 2011.

1. tigersoul macrumors newbie

I'm considering my purchase of my new iMac and I am torn between upgrades. 27 inch is a no brainer, but then it gets hard. I don't care about graphics because I do not play games, but I want SSD and I want the upgraded i7 @ 3,4ghz. Obiously I'd like to have both but it ends up way higher than I am willing to pay for a new computer. So which of SSD and the i7 at 3,4ghz is really the best buy? The SSD option uses the 2,7ghz i5 system with SSD added, the i7 option is the most expensive with the i7 option added.

I'm doing hd video editing, native avchd, this is where the i7 option would shine. I am also a photographer that HATE the constant wait for photoshop to open on any computer (darn bloatware! hah) this is where the SSD would shine, and it would shine in every general moment I assume in general computing.

Any advice on how to think here? I'm getting memory too but that I'm taking care of myself, thinking of 16gb but may settle for 8 to save some money.

2. tigersoul thread starter macrumors newbie

Nice and short ;) I am leaning towards this myself, I am pretty sure an i5 @ 2,7ghz can cope in native avdhd editing and that is really the only area where I'd look for the i7 as security.

3. Dresevski macrumors 6502

SSD will give you the added feel of speed all the time, where the i7 is almost overkill at this point

4. tigersoul thread starter macrumors newbie

It's overkill price-wise if nothing else since I don't need the better graphics either.

5. APtalent macrumors regular

The GPU plays an important role in video editing and graphic designing. CS5 leverages the GPU over the CPU to accelerate several functions. I would recommend you to go for the i7 and purchase a the SSD from a third-party website.