Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iBrody

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 11, 2008
After trawling through various websites, and threads on here, I am left confused as to which type of SSD to buy.

Initially I was going to opt for the Seagate Momentus XT 750GB HDD, but thought what the heck, I may as well pay the additional £300 or so and upgrade to SSD (512GB).

Now, with SSD, will I be better off buying SATA II over III for compatibility on an early 2011 15" MBP (2.2 GHz Intel Core i7)? I have no previous experience with SSD but my main uses are web browsing (80%), PS/LR (10%) and DVD editing/authoring (10%).

...after looking at prices for SATA III SSD's I was about to buy the Crucial M4 512GB SSD, but noticed on this forum and the Apple Support forum that a lot of people with early 2011 MBP's have had installation and freezing issues with the M4 (TRIM and Sandforce seem to prop a lot in discussions). I will not be using the SSD in my optical drive btw (although it is also SATA III).

I don't mind buying SATA II, but would prefer SATA III due to it being newer technology and by buying into older technology I know I will regret it.

I could always buy the XT HDD and then think about SSD when the next MBP's are released (if the new design includes SSD as standard).

My budget is £550 max.

Thanks

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
Finland
Crucial M4 had issues when it was released but firmware updates have fixed them. Nowadays it's one of the most recommended SSDs for 2011 MBPs. I would definitely buy it if the money isn't an issue.

iBrody

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 11, 2008
Thanks.

If the Crucial runs fewer problems with a firmware update, will the following be a further hurdle?

1. My MBP shipped with SL
2. I upgraded to Lion via the App Store
3. I will want to do a clean install of Lion with the new SSD (Lion OS X from pen drive at launch) .