SSD questions (MacPro 1.1)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by yassi, Nov 16, 2014.

  1. yassi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #1
    Hi all,

    I would like to get some advise in upgrading my MacPro 1.1 (running 10.9.5) with the help of SFOTT) to a SSD drive.

    I need only one drive (like the Samsung 840 EVO 256GB), the question is: should I attach the drive to the internal SATA2 bus or should I buy a PCI-E adapter (like the one mentioned here in other threads) for mSATA drive(s)?

    Will I get more speed thru PCI-E?

    Thx,
    yassi
     
  2. Tower-Union macrumors 6502

    Tower-Union

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #2
    I upgraded to an SSD a few years ago on my Mac Pro 1,1 and I just put it in one of the standard bays. The speed has just blown me away, hands down the best update I've ever done. I would suggest you do the same, and if you REALLY feel you need more, then buy the adapter after?
     
  3. ssgbryan macrumors 6502a

    ssgbryan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #3
    You have 2 unused SATA ports on the logic board. I plugged both of my SSDs into that and made a RAID 0 for my boot drive. I kept the 4 drive bays free for large hard drives.
     
  4. yassi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #4
    Hi guys,

    thanks for your reply.

    May I ask you whiche SSD you're using?
    Do you have any positive experience with the Transcend SSD370 (cheapere than Samsung EVO).

    yassi
     
  5. ssgbryan macrumors 6502a

    ssgbryan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #5
    I don't have one of those, I have a pair of OWC Mercury 3G (240Gb ea). I have been quite pleased with them.
     
  6. Pending macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    #6
    I use a Samsung.
    You will appreciate the upgrade with either.
     
  7. resale macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    If I recall correctly, the Mac Pro 1,1 has Pcie 1.1 and Sata 2. Sata 2 has a higher bandwidth than Pcie 1.1 so the on board Sata 2 connections are the way to go.
     
  8. yassi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #8
    Thanks, guys.

    Then I will try with the Transcend SSD370 (256GB).

    yassi
     
  9. tadeeb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    #9
    Multiple SSDs on MacPro1,1/2,1

    I would like to take suggestions if any of you on a MacPro1,1/2,1 made use of multiple SSDs(2 or 3) into a single Logical Volume so you can have a larger volume? What is your experience with that - any performance degrade or issues with Boot or Yosemite OS upgrades?

    I have 4 SSDs all sitting in the bay. Each one is slight variant of other Samsung EVO 250GB, Intel 240GB, Samsung Pro 512GB, PNY 240GB. Right now I have Mavericks on 1 SSD and other SSD is Yosemite.
    I want to combine 3 of the SSDs and make it a larger volume and leave 1 SSD as is (for later OS upgrades or anything else).

    I know some have done RAID configurations, but not interested in RAID as I may need a RAID Controller card. I not too worried about the Data as I do have other ways to back up my data. So I was thinking if it is feasible to use CoreStorage/Fusion Drive to create a large Logical Volume.

    Any thoughts or issues or experiences would much be appreciated.

    Yeah upgraded the CPUs and upgraded the EFI to make it 2,1.
     
  10. yaboo007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    #10
    I have a 240gb ssd which is used in the second dvd rom bay, with a sata cable running from the motherboard.

    I also had a pci-e ssd card, but seems not to be able to use as a boot disk in 10.9 but as a storage drive.
     
  11. jfalberti macrumors member

    jfalberti

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Location:
    Visalia CA
    #11
    Creating Fusion Drive

    I created a Fusion drive for my Mac Pro 1,1 by combining a 128 GB OCZ SSD and Western Digital 1 TB HHD, and using the Core Services function of Disk Utility to combine them into a logical volume group, and then carve out the logical volume.

    The instructions to do this are at this link. Even though it specifies using a SSD and HDD, you could use all SSDs, if you want to.

    http://www.macworld.com/article/2014011/how-to-make-your-own-fusion-drive.html
     
  12. 808b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    #12
    what are the step to use a ssd in macpro 1,1? the ssd already have el capitan installed.
     
  13. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    Just plug that into any of the native SATA port. You may use a rubber band to support it. Or simply leave the SSD at there, the SATA port is strong enough to hold the SSD. If you want to further reduce the SATA port's pressure. You may remove the SSD's case (like the picture below), that will greatly reduce the weight and bending moment.
    SSD SATA port.jpg
     
  14. 808b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    #14
    thx h9826790, i already plug my ssd (el capitan)into the macpro (10.6.8). OsX don't recognize the drive.
     
  15. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #15
    You mean the cMP can't see the SSD?

    Or the cMP can't boot from SSD?

    If your El Capitan is just the "normal" installation. Of course you can't boot from it. cMP 1,1 only natively support up to 10.7.5

    If you just want to use SSD in the 1,1, you better install 10.7.5 (or earlier) to the SSD. You may simply clone your existing 10.6.8 to the SSD.
     
  16. 808b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    #16
    i want to boot from the ssd and use it as my main drive.
     
  17. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #17
    You can't see the SSD in both Finder and Disk Utility?
     
  18. 808b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    #18
    In finder no but in disk utility almost. I think there is something to do with the EFI, the boot EFI.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #19
    I doubt if there is anything EFI related. Simply re-format the SSD, and clone your existing 10.6.8 to the SSD, then you will get what you want.
     
  20. 808b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    #20
    this ssd coming from my macbook pro is full of data. I can't even imagine this. the reason why i need my ssd working with my mac pro is simple, my macbook pro give up. I have no choice right now.
     

Share This Page