SSD questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dw3bb10, Mar 3, 2011.

1. dw3bb10 macrumors 6502

I plan on picking up an SSD soon for my Macbook Pro to benefit from the added performance ofcourse. Im a little new to this so Id like some recommendations. I purchased the base 2011 15' model. Whats the best, fastest SSD I can put into this computer? Also, is it fine to use an SSD as my primary drive? I believe Ive read around that over time the life of the SSD will severely deteriorate due to somewhat limited amounts of read/write on the blocks. I also see people here on the forums using optibay mods to have dual drives, SSD and a standard drive, which isnt something I really want to do. Whats the truth to this?

2. brendu macrumors 68020

Since you have one of the new MacBooks with SATA III, I would recommend waiting until the next generation of SSD's come out in the next couple months. It should be well worth it. I am not sure about the drive deterioration, haven't heard anyone really complain of it though. I just picked up a 120GB OWC SSD and im loving the speed increase. I used to see the beachball every 2 minutes and now I never see it at all. Everything is so much snappier and more responsive. But since I went from 500GB HDD to 120GB SSD I am considering getting an optibay for the HDD so I can still throw all my media on it / have a built in time machine disk and never need an external.

3. axu539 macrumors 6502a

On any modern SSD, you likely won't see any noticeable performance degradation. I assume you're just going to be using it for everyday stuff.