SSD RAID-0 programs lock up HELP!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cerbx1, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. cerbx1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #1
    I recently installed a pair of Intel 160GB series 320 drives in a RAID-0 software configuration in my early 2008 MP. I then cloned my HHD with SuperDuper. Everything was working great for the first few days and then things began to lock up. I can't launch more than one application at a time without having to reboot the machine. Many applications such as Toast 11 freeze up when launched and won't respond at all. Even the system disk utility won't open until I reboot and launch it immediately before opening anything else. Any suggestions would be gladly appreciated.

    Thank you in advance.

    Can't be a RAM issue it's maxed out at 32GB.
     
  2. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #2
    There were a lot of similar problems reported on 2008 Mac Pros, using Intel G2 SSD's, on 10.6.2 back in the day.

    Here are a couple of related threads...

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=872912

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=841803

    I'm not sure what the remedy was... an OS update, a drive firmware issue, running them in RAID on a 2008... but there is definitely was some issue with this combo. Perhaps someone with this combo who worked through it will be able to shed more light on what they did to fix it. :confused:
     
  3. cerbx1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #3
    320's are 3rd Gen

    Also I'm running 10.6.7, when you mentioned firmware is that the drives firmware? I looked on intel's web site and the latest drives are for windows. I'm not running windows...
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    Intel has a freely available .ISO for you to make a boot CD with firmware update utility. Because it is a boot CD, you can update your SSD firmware regardless of which operating system you'd normally use.
     
  5. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #5
    If there is a more current firmware... definitely flash that as ActionableMango suggests.

    If that fails to rectify your problem, and no one else chimes in with a known fix, then I would try just installing them stand-alone... no RAID. You may have to try one and then the other to see if the problem is isolated to just one drive or if it happens with both or if it disappears when not using RAID. Only then will you know what you're really dealing with.
     
  6. cerbx1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #6
    Ok-Thanks

    I'm out of town but will work on it as soon as I get back.
     
  7. cerbx1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #7
    Separated the drives

    Erased everything and cloned the system drive to one SSD. Ran Disk Warrior before cloning and repaired permissions. Everything running great. Placed the other 160GB SSD in my mac book pro. Thank you...
     

Share This Page