Ssd raid0

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 4God, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. 4God macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #1
    So I googled and couldn't find any solid answers. I have an early 2011 15" Macbook Pro. I removed the optical drive and inserted a SATAII (3Gbs) 480GB SSD. My question is this: I have a 480GB SATAIII (6Gbs) drive to put in the main drive bay and was wondering if I could RAID0 the two drives. I know that's not the ideal thing to do (should use a SATAII 3Gbs drive) but will it work at the lower connection rate?
     
  2. mac8867 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #2
    Yes
     
  3. 4God thread starter macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #3
    Thank you. I'll give it a try (after I finish these edits).
     
  4. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #4
    If any drive in a raid 0 fails you lose all your data. Make sure you keep good backups.
     
  5. 4God thread starter macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #5
    Yes, absolutely. Thank you. I'm taking a chance to see if I can get better performance out of FCPX with this setup. I know, most recommend using a separate drive but I know folks using internal SSD's and having great success with it. I should be fine as long as I have external backups.
     

Share This Page