SSD swap

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by laragheast, Aug 16, 2016.

  1. laragheast macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    #1
    HI Guys
    Would anybody know how I can fix this issue I am having , I am trying to put a late 2013 rmbp ssd drive into a early
    2015 and it won't boot up I am getting
    a warning sigh . Both are my drives but
    The machine from 2013 is damaged but
    The ssd is ok .
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
  3. laragheast thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    That should be okay since that Mac shipped with Yosemite 10.10.2. I thought the drive hardware was compatible on those two, but I may be wrong. Maybe somebody else can jump in here and confirm.
     
  5. tubeexperience macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    #5
    The drives are compatible between the two.

    Maybe he needs to upgrade the OS.
     
  6. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #6
    - Does it also have at least Yosemite 10.10.2?

    Further, if you start up the 2015 with 2013 drive in Internet Recovery, does Disk Utility read the disk properly?
     
  7. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    The drive is physically compatible, but the OS is either corrupted or the wrong version.

    Scroll about halfway down, I think this is probably what you're seeing:
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204156
     
  8. laragheast thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    #8
    Hi Thanks for the feed back this is what i see on the screen
    Prohibitory symbol
    upload_2016-8-16_20-42-37.png
     
  9. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #9
    - Yes. Could you try what I mentioned and confirm the exact OS X version for us?
    Internet Recovery is accessed by holding down Cmd + Alt + R at the startup chime.
     
  10. laragheast thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    #10
    Thanks to everybody for their help, it worked perfect in recovery mode like JTToft said.
     
  11. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #11
    - Excellent. Got OS X (re)installed on it, too, and it's booting?
     
  12. laragheast thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    #12
    Yep i done a quick time machine backup before the swap ,rebooted in internet recovery and then time machine back up
    el cap is on the machine now and i have double the storage, i am delighted with it ,thanks again
     
  13. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #13
    - Excellent.
     

Share This Page