SSD to replace hard hard drive in 21.5 inch 2010 iMac. Help required

Discussion in 'iMac' started by guy curlewis, Aug 30, 2015.

1. guy curlewis macrumors member

hi there

I have a i3 3.2 16gb ram mid 2010 iMac and I understand replacing the hard drive with an SSD is the way forward in terms of speeding up my machine.

I have no experience of this. Is this easy to do and can anyone recommend a good SSD? . I am replacing a 1tb drive but as I now have Synology nas drive and external FireWire 800 g drive storage units I am happy to go smaller. In terms of of value and size can anyone recommend a solution?

Many thanks

2. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

rkaufmann87

In both cases go with OWC. They have install videos too and sell a tool kit you will need too.

is the link for the http://eshop.macsales.com/installvideos/imac_mid27_2010_ssddiy/ install video.

3. tyche macrumors 6502

I've used a 256gb SSD for years in my 2010 since I also have a synology nas for data. If you have a big iTunes library it might be easier to get a 512gb as prices have dropped where they cost about what I paid for my 256.

Make sure you have the parts (torx screwdriver, etc) and watch the install videos several times before opening.

I'd also recommend you clone your drive and make sure you can restore back to your ssd - ie make sure the SSD has enough space.

The only issue I had doing it myself was fans going full speed. I bought smc fan control and it solved that issue.

4. guy curlewis thread starter macrumors member

Thanks for your help everyone much appreciated

5. AlifTheUnseen macrumors member

AlifTheUnseen

I wouldn't call that 'solved' but I'll accept 'remedied', although there might be a risk with overheating involved… but maybe SMC takes care of that as well…