SSD Too slow?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Inakto, Apr 12, 2012.

  1. Inakto macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #1
    Hey, I have a early 2011 17" MBP and I finally went for the SSD today.
    I got a OCZ Agility 3 240GB SSD, and I used the trim enabler. Everything is fast however I only get 230 MBs reads and 208 MBs writes in blackmagic. Whats Going on?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ohrstrom macrumors 6502

    Ohrstrom

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    Does blackmagic write in hard to compress-data or easy to compress-data? Ive seen 2 windowssoftwares used different types and people were wondering why some had so high when they had so little when in fact the test software was to blame. :)
     
  3. Inakto thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #3
    Maybe its nothing... It is showing 6GBps link. :rolleyes:
     
  4. Inakto thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #4
    OK so this is Xbench... Honestly I don't know what these numbers mean Lol
     

    Attached Files:

  5. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #5
    I would try ASSSD or HDtach they are more reliable.
    Even for compressed data it seems to low. Afaik a 240GB sf 2200 can handle much more.
    Is it by any chance running on Sata 2.
    According to Anandtech with Sata 2 your numbers aren't that far of but with Sata 3 it should be somewhere around 340 MB/s sequential.
     
  6. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #6
    What does data compression have to do with disk I/O tests?
     
  7. macmastersam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Essex, england
    #7
    Have you seen any SSD comparison videos for MacBook pros? I swear the last time I saw one of those it had the same read/ write data that you provided us in the statistics. It might be just me, so I would also suggest searching your problem on google, see if there are other people in the same boat as you, with the same problem as you.

    Out of curiosity: what were the advertised read/write speeds of your SSD according the where you purchased it from.
     
  8. Ohrstrom macrumors 6502

    Ohrstrom

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #8
    Im no expert in any way but I read on another forum that 2 different softwares used 2 different types of data, one used easily compressed data and one used more difficult data, and this resulted in different write speeds. Also, if you read reviews on SSD's its often mentioned that some of them performs a bit worse with hard-to-compress-data while others performs better with it, so Im sure its not irrelevant.
     
  9. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #9
    Blackmagic uses only uncompressible data and always reads low. It does say that in their support info :)

    IMHO folks around here get too hung up in #'s. It works, or it doesn't. Link speed right? Check. Disc Permissions correct? Check, machine run with no errors? Check, Go play :)
     
  10. Ohrstrom macrumors 6502

    Ohrstrom

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #10
    I agree, from what Ive understood the normal everyday user benefits more from access times than actual write speeds, I mean thats the impression Ive got from reading about SSD's.
     
  11. Inakto thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #11
    It says Read: up to 525MB/s
    Write: up to 500MB/s
     
  12. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #12
    Correct. I don't understand the paranoia that I see around these forums.
     
  13. Inakto thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #13
    It's not that. The drive is working quite well, however it did cost $230 and I would like to see that it is set up correctly, and giving me numbers close to what is promised.

    Here is a AS SSD benchmark as recommended.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Inakto thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #14
    OK I enabled AHCI or something per instruction on OCZ forums and now the benchmark looks like this:
     

    Attached Files:

  15. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #15
    That's a big improvement. Thanks for sharing the resolution.
     

Share This Page