SSD update firmware via Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by mario24601, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. mario24601 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    #1
    Anyone know what SSDs are able to be updated via mac instead of windows? Know if OCZ Vertex4 works via Mac?
     
  2. LeandrodaFL macrumors 6502a

    LeandrodaFL

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #2
    you need to check the ssd manufactuerr website for info on that. I know Seagate HDD can do
     
  3. = bluntman = macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #3
    Add the Sandisk Extreme to the list too. I recently updated mine and now there is no longer a need to run Trim Enabler and shutdowns are consistently instantaneous.
     
  4. colshine macrumors regular

    colshine

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I've updated the Crucial M4 on MBP without issues in the past.
     
  5. bogchop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #5
    Bluntman - why is trim enabler no longer needed?
     
  6. Deasnutz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    #6
    Because he has a really good feeling about the new fw.
     
  7. = bluntman = macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #7
    Trim wasn't enabled with R201 unless I used Trim Enabler. With R211, Trim is automatically enabled and working properly.
     
  8. bogchop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #8
    Are you sure about that? I have both SSDs in raid 0 (480gb extreme), and system profiler is telling me that trim is NOT enabled! Both running 211 of course.
     
  9. = bluntman =, Nov 16, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2012

    = bluntman = macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #9
    Positive, System Profiler reports that Trim IS enabled in both my 240GB (6,2 MBP) and my 480GB (4,1 MP) drives (both Extreme).

    Here is the System Profiler from my MP:

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page