SSD Upgrade issues?!?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jdwagner888, Jun 27, 2012.

  1. jdwagner888 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #1
    Hey guys, I cannot find any info on this subject,

    I am trying to use my new SSD but do not have my stock apple install disk anymore. How can I go about getting osx on the SSD without a disk? thanks
     
  2. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    I literally just installed my new SSD. This is what I used....

    http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1433?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

    It worked flawlessly!
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    If you still have the hard drive your removed you can use the free Carbon Copy Cloner to copy the OS and all your data from the old drive to the new one.
     
  4. kdoug macrumors 6502a

    kdoug

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA USA
    #4
  5. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    Actually since he said he doesn't have the original recovery disk he may be talking about snow leopard. I have no idea how to do a fresh install of leopard without the disk. His only option may be cloning his HDD, which isn't ideal for a new SSD.
     
  6. sweetbrat macrumors 65816

    sweetbrat

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    #6
    It might not be ideal, but it works just fine unless there's something already wrong with the current drive. I cloned mine and haven't had any issues at all, and it was much easier than doing a new install of everything and migrating individual files over to the new drive. I just did a good cleaning up of my old files before cloning.
     
  7. jdwagner888 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #7
    I guess i will have to clone everything over. A fresh install would still be the best option if i could figure out how to make it work
     
  8. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    If you are in need of a computer and would like to install your SSD with a fresh OS install you could always upgrade to Lion.
     
  9. jdwagner888 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #9
    I have lion already but do not have a install disk anymore it is scratches
     
  10. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #10
    Get a flash thumb drive with at least 1GB of memory and click on the link I provided at the beginning of this post.
     
  11. jdwagner888 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #11
    I was having trouble making a bootable flash drive and as suspected my thumb drive is broken. I used a friends and everything went smooth! thanks!!!
     

Share This Page