SSD upgrade

Christine96

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2017
11
4
Hello everyone

I just got a new MacBook Pro and I want to install bootcamp windows 8.1 but I'd like to get a bigger hard drive since I would have two operating systems. Currently I have just 250 GB but I'd like 500 GB. Can someone recommend a good SSD for MacBook pros? My particular MacBook is a 2016.

Thank you very much
Christine
 

logicstudiouser

macrumors 6502a
Feb 4, 2010
523
1,052
You need an entirely new computer to upgrade to more storage with the 2016 models.
Did you purchase from Apple? If so, you have 14 days to return it. If it has been slightly more than 14 days they may be lenient since you are intending to buy a more expensive mac, but that likely depends on the condition of the returned item and the discretion of the lead working in store.
More likely than not, anything older than a month you will need to resell at a loss but you have nothing to lose by trying to exchange first.

If you bought from a third party seller, contact customer service and see if they can help you out. Again, the more recent you purchased the computer, the more likely you can get this returned.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tryrtryrtryrt

Fishrrman

macrumors P6
Feb 20, 2009
17,209
5,554
If the software you'll be using supports it, I'd suggest some kind of "virtual machine" solution to running Windows to be more desirable than BootCamp.

But that's just me and I almost -never- use Windows.
 

Christine96

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2017
11
4
OMG! Soldered to the board? What if the hard drive goes out? Is the memory soldered too? I didn't know when I purchased it. Its been less than 14 days but is it possible to do a bootcamp windows from an external drive and run windows programs?
 

tubeexperience

macrumors 68040
Feb 17, 2016
3,192
3,881
OMG! Soldered to the board? What if the hard drive goes out? Is the memory soldered too? I didn't know when I purchased it. Its been less than 14 days but is it possible to do a bootcamp windows from an external drive and run windows programs?
Yes, the memory and SSD are soldered.

If any of those goes out, you would have to replace the logic board (motherboard) which costs $650+
 

Christine96

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2017
11
4
Yes, the memory and SSD are soldered.

If any of those goes out, you would have to replace the logic board (motherboard) which costs $650+
Well fortunately I'm still within the 14 day return period. I'll see what a MacBook Pro cost with 500 GB HD and 16 Gig of ram.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SDColorado

Christine96

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2017
11
4
I just went to the Apple web site and it looks like the only option in 13" is 8GB ram and 256 or 500GB HD. Man that licks lizards. The hard drive isn't that much of a big deal but I defiantly wanted to upgrade the ram. I don't want the 15" which is the only option for 16 gig of ram. WTF! Apple?
[doublepost=1492967149][/doublepost]
Oh, and labor to change the logic board is another $150.

In other words cheaper to just buy a new MacBook.
[doublepost=1492967542][/doublepost]
Costco was selling a Lexar 512GB SL 100 external for $125
Is that drive bootcamp compatible?
 

SDColorado

Contributor
Nov 6, 2011
4,268
4,214
Highlands Ranch, CO
Even the baseline 13" 2.0Ghz Macbook Pro has options for upgrades to 512GB or 1TB SSD, there is no 500GB HDD option for those. You can also upgrade RAM to 16GB. Where are you seeing the 500GB HDD?
 

tubeexperience

macrumors 68040
Feb 17, 2016
3,192
3,881
Even the baseline 13" 2.0Ghz Macbook Pro has options for upgrades to 512GB or 1TB SSD, there is no 500GB HDD option for those. You can also upgrade RAM to 16GB. Where are you seeing the 500GB HDD?
$2199 for 13" MacBook Pro TB with 16 GB DDR3 and 512 GB SSD.
 

Christine96

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2017
11
4
Even the baseline 13" 2.0Ghz Macbook Pro has options for upgrades to 512GB or 1TB SSD, there is no 500GB HDD option for those. You can also upgrade RAM to 16GB. Where are you seeing the 500GB HDD?
Sorry I meant 512. So it is upgradable? The 2016 model? I'm getting conflicting information I guess.
 

SDColorado

Contributor
Nov 6, 2011
4,268
4,214
Highlands Ranch, CO
Sorry I meant 512. So it is upgradable? The 2016 model? I'm getting conflicting information I guess.
It's only upgradable at time of purchase via a CTO purchase. Probably your local store only carries the models you mention, but online you can order a 13" MBP with 16GB and 1TB SSD.

You just threw me off with the HD nomenclature vs SSD. Thought you were referring to a HDD option :)

Edit: depending on how many days you have left in your 14-day return, you could order what you want and use your current one in the meantime. If your close, talk to the Apple Store folks, see if they will order it for you and grant an extended return while you wait. They should be able to enter that into your notes or notate your order receipt
 

Christine96

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2017
11
4
It's only upgradable at time of purchase via a CTO purchase. Probably your local store only carries the models you mention, but online you can order a 13" MBP with 16GB and 1TB SSD.

You just threw me off with the HD nomenclature vs SSD. Thought you were referring to a HDD option :)
Oh at time of purchase yeah that makes sense. Well I still have time to exchange it so maybe a trip back to apple this pay day.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SDColorado

Christine96

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2017
11
4
Request an extension of the policy if you have them order it and it looks like it will arrive a couple of days beyond
Good idea thank you.
[doublepost=1492971241][/doublepost]
It's only upgradable at time of purchase via a CTO purchase. Probably your local store only carries the models you mention, but online you can order a 13" MBP with 16GB and 1TB SSD.

You just threw me off with the HD nomenclature vs SSD. Thought you were referring to a HDD option :)

Edit: depending on how many days you have left in your 14-day return, you could order what you want and use your current one in the meantime. If your close, talk to the Apple Store folks, see if they will order it for you and grant an extended return while you wait. They should be able to enter that into your notes or notate your order receipt

It was purchased on the 17th so looks the 1st is the 14 day mark.
 

SDColorado

Contributor
Nov 6, 2011
4,268
4,214
Highlands Ranch, CO
Good idea thank you.
[doublepost=1492971241][/doublepost]


It was purchased on the 17th so looks the 1st is the 14 day mark.
I believe they will be lenient if you go into the store and have them place the order for you, so they know a replacement is coming. But that may be something they do more on the business end. No harm in asking though. They worst they can do is say no, but I think they will work with you.
 

Christine96

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2017
11
4
I believe they will be lenient if you go into the store and have them place the order for you, so they know a replacement is coming. But that may be something they do more on the business end. No harm in asking though. They worst they can do is say no, but I think they will work with you.
Yeah I'm going to take it back today to exchange it and pay the difference so they can place the order.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SDColorado

Christine96

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2017
11
4
Update: Ok I returned the MacBook and ordered one with 512 gig SSD and 16 gig of ram. I started to go ahead and get the i7 but it was quite a bit more so I stayed with the i5. Thank you all for your help and patience.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SDColorado

D.T.

macrumors G3
Sep 15, 2011
8,927
6,748
Vilano Beach, FL
BTW, the '16 model MBPs with Sierra, only support Windows 10 (under Bootcamp). I think there's some ninja-workarounds, or alternately you could go VM if your Windows work is "lightweight".
 
  • Like
Reactions: SDColorado

Christine96

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2017
11
4
BTW, the '16 model MBPs with Sierra, only support Windows 10 (under Bootcamp). I think there's some ninja-workarounds, or alternately you could go VM if your Windows work is "lightweight".
I have to buy windows anyway so I'll just get win 10.
 

D.T.

macrumors G3
Sep 15, 2011
8,927
6,748
Vilano Beach, FL
I have to buy windows anyway so I'll just get win 10.
Oh good, I mentioned it since I thought you might already have a license (and need to upgrade).

I'm actually posting this from Winders® 10 Pro/64 running in Bootcamp :) 10 is pretty decent, still prefer macOS by quite a margin, but you'll wind up with a much better OS vs. Windows 8.x

(funny enough ... this install started as an old Win7/32bit from an HP several years back, transferred to a VM, across multiple machines, then eventually upgrade to 10/32bit for free, and used the 10 VM to fetch a 64bit copy for free for a fresh BC install :D)