SSH Beginner - How to Use SSH Remote Login?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by John Doe 57, Jul 2, 2008.

  1. John Doe 57 macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    OK, I've got no real reason to use SSH, but I have 2 Macs running Leopard and I though this Remote Login thing would be kinda neat. How do I use it?
     
  2. Winterfell macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    #2
    First you need to make sure the SSH daemon is running by enabling remote login via the System Preferences -> Sharing pane.

    Are you using an SSH-compatible client (e.g. PuTTy on Windows; any typical terminal software on *nix)?

    If you wanted, you could just open a terminal session on one of your Macs, and do a ssh <user>@<host-or-ip>. From there you will be prompted for a password, and if you successfully authenticate then that's it, you're in.


    ~Colin
     
  3. John Doe 57 thread starter macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  4. stevejk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #4
    Greetings,

    I'm a Mac and a Linux newbie. My objective is to set up a SSH server on my Mac running Leopard and set up a secure tunnel from my Linux laptop -- to give my web browsing and emailing more security at a public wifi hotspot.

    I followed the instructions on Lifehacker to set up the SSH server. I downloaded Putty to my Linux laptop because of the GUI.

    However, it doesn't work. My Mac says I can connect to it using "ssh username@ipaddress" or "ssh -l username ipaddress". When I do that, it just sits there and does nothing until it times out. Ditto with Putty.

    What am I missing? Thank you for your help.
     
  5. sord macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #5
    Likely your home router isn't forwarding the SSH port (22) to your machine. Look into your router's configuration for port forwarding.
     
  6. stevejk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #6
    No, that wasn't it.

    It turned out to be the firewall. I had tell the firewall to allow "Remote Login". Also, I learned that it is a SOCKS v5 proxy.

    So now I have a SSH tunnel to my Mac at home and, with some reconfiguring of application configurations, I can browse wirelessly reasonably securely.

    Now, if I can figure out how to install a VPN server on my Mac, I wouldn't have to reconfigure all my apps (browser, email, chat) depending on which network I'm on. If I can figure out how to install a PPTP server on my Mac, that would make life even easier! :)
     

Share This Page