iPhone SSH Into Device Without Access to Settings

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by pollybrowne, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. pollybrowne macrumors member

    pollybrowne

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    #1
    I updated a tweak and almost all of my icons including Cydia dissappeared. Even in Safemode Cydia is not there.

    I thought the next step would be to SSH into the phone with WNSCP to remove the tweak but how can I find out the IP address for the phone without access to Settings as that was one of the app icons that has disappeared.

    Thanks
     
  2. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #2
    Try all (at least up to 115-120) numbers starting with 100 as is in:

    ssh root@192.168.1.100

    ----------

    And if this doesn't help, peek into

    ~/.ssh/known_hosts

    (on a Mac).

    It'll list all the IP's you've previously SSH'ed into along with other info. Try those IP's. Generally, routers give out the same local IP's to mobile devices and they rarely change.
     
  3. matl0ck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    #3

    generally routers and backbones tend to give out the same IP addresses to the same mac addresses every time unless that IP address is unavailable.. sit was sooo cache
    :cool:
     
  4. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #4
    why start with 100?
    shouldn't it be starting 192.168.1.2?

    ----------

    generally speaking, if you log into your router's login page, usually 192.168.1.1, it'll list out all the local IPs for each device connected to it
     
  5. 0xyMoron macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Download the .deb of a tweak called “ShowIP for NotificationCenter” (Free). Link copy the .deb to Cydia's auto install folder on your device via iTools or any system files browser and reboot, then you should be able to see your IP address in your notifications center and access your device from WinSCP. This step could be a lot easier if you have iFile installed.
     
  6. tateu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #6
    That wouldn't work on any of my routers. All of mine start at 1. Some are 192.168.0.1 - 192.168.0.254, some are 192.168.10.1 - 192.168.10.254.

    For the future, I recommend getting SSH over USB set up: http://www.iphonedevwiki.net/index.php?title=SSH_Over_USB
     
  7. matl0ck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    #7
    Most routers are set up to allow the first 99 clients to be statically set therefore they start at 100 with DHCP.. Also, with most routers the 0.1 address is going to be the router interface so no host will actually get that address. It would be best to log into your router and figure out with the DHCP addresses start from and then iterate through them, or you could always once you log into the router check the lan area it will tell you what clients are connected and most often they have the NetBIOS hostname listed there next to the IP address.
     
  8. tateu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #8
    That's not true at all.

    That's true.
     
  9. matl0ck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    #9

    Well it really depends but generally most Linksys routers do start at either 100 or 150, as does the Comcast Xfinity router and most d-links from what I've been seeing.. Unless you're speaking of the Cisco industrial routers in which case you have full set up on that manually.


    From http://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/uci/dhcp#dhcp.pools :

     
  10. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #10
    that doesn't seem to be the case for my router; you would need to manually set it if you want x clients to have a static local IP

    mines just automatically start assigning them starting from .2
     
  11. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #11
    Yup, this is the most effective solution.
     
  12. alkalifly macrumors regular

    alkalifly

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    #12
    And if you can't get into your router then download an IP scanner on to your computer (e.g., Angry IP Scanner is free and cross platform) and see what IP address on the LAN is used while not associated with any other known device
     

Share This Page