SSH Issue with IOS5

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by marina2042, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. marina2042 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #1
    I am trying to ssh into my phone (OpenSSH installed) and when I try it, I get a connection refused error. It works fine with devices not on 5.0...is there something else I need to install?

    I do notice something strange...if I turn on SSH in notification center via sbs it turns off the toggle if i click on drop win for sbs settings. If I turn on the ssh toggle via sbs window (not notification center) it turns off the ssh toggle in notification center. I am on an iphone 4

    Thanks!
     
  2. Nevrsadie macrumors regular

    Nevrsadie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    Dark side of the monitor
    #2
    I had my ip4 on 5.0 with tethered jailbreak and ssh worked fine. Just updated to untethered 5.0.1 and SSh is not working, same error message your receiving. Not sure about your notification center problem, I just use sbsettings drop window.
     
  3. ReddestDream macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #3
    Same thing with me . . . Just install Corona 1.0-3 or use redsn0w 0.9.10b3 to fix everything! ^_^
     
  4. marina2042 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #4
    went from 4.3.3 to ios 5 so don't think rerunning redsnow would help me :(
     
  5. Nevrsadie macrumors regular

    Nevrsadie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    Dark side of the monitor
    #5
    I already used redsnow 10b1 to jailbreak untethered. 10b3 will fix ssh issue?
     
  6. ReddestDream macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    Sorry . . . I'm not sure what's wrong then . . . :(

    Yes! ^_^
     
  7. rutiger macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    #7
    i had the same issue with ssh not working. just reran redsnow b2 and it works fine now.
     
  8. marina2042 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #8
    is it better to run redsnow again or use corona?
     
  9. ReddestDream macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #9
    It doesn't matter, but redsn0w b2 has a bug, so make sure you are using b3 of redsn0w if you use it! ^_^
     
  10. marina2042 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
  11. az988 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #11
    did you guys have to do a fresh restore first? or just run b3 on top of your already b1 jailbroken instance?
     
  12. ReddestDream macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #12
    You can just run it on top of a b1 jailbreak! ^_^
     
  13. az988 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #13
    awesome, thanks!!
     
  14. az988 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #14
    More specific instruction that I noticed on the dev blog in case anyone else wanted to know:
    As usual, you can just re-run redsn0w in jailbreak mode over your existing 5.0.1 jailbreak (even a PwnageTool one), making sure to de-select “Install Cydia” if you do. Always be sure to do a controlled “slide to power off” shutdown of your device before running redsn0w.
     
  15. loso86 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    #15
    so I was having this same problem and decided to re JB over my current one.

    To my surprise it worked.

    However, when I got a connection with my phone it asked to upgrade something and so I did concerning the connection, so I did.

    Since adding a theme to the themes folder, Winterboard has stopped working (displaying my change of slidelock etc, that were working fine before the re JB).

    It displays the added folder/theme however after respringing, it does not make the changes and infact leaves everything as default (themes and icons etc).

    Has anyone experienced this or know what to do?
     
  16. sand_man macrumors 6502a

    sand_man

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #16
    Also having issues. Have to reboot between ssh's sessions...
     
  17. kvizzel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #17
    Yeah same here... so you guys are saying rejailbreking with redsn0w (deselect install cydia) fixes this problem?

    Maybe I just won't toggle it off and just change the password...
     
  18. crovian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #18
    i was also having this problem when i jailbroke redsnow b2 on stock iphone 4 5.0.1 but a hard reboot, and pw changed and i haven't had a problem since we ssh. i can turn ssh on and off between sessions no problems also
     
  19. guineapig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Italy
    #19
    Same problem here.
    iPhone 4S.
    Every once in a while SSH stops working and sometimes the even disappears from sbsettings.
    I need to reboot and reinstall OpenSSH to make it work...
     

Share This Page