iPhone SSH & Winterboard help

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by AMC89, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. AMC89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #1
    I am using Z|UI prime with winterboard. I have been changing some of the icons to my preferences via ssh but I can only get the stock apps such as app store etc to change. Iv tried googling etc but can't get the answers I need. Maybe someone can run me through what I need to do to change the other icons or point me to a good tutorial. Hope someone can help thanks
     
  2. AMC89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
  3. LithePanther macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    #3
    The modmyi thread dedicated to that theme would be able to help you more.
     
  4. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #4
    How are you changing the icons? What are you doing exactly. Screenshots will help.
     
  5. AMC89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #5
    Iv been hunting through the hubdreds of pages on that thread.

    I have gone into the theme folder and changed the file named icon@2x to the image of my choice. This worked with some and not others. There is also some I can't find like the modmyi app so don't know what to do there.

    When using the summerboard method my icons are too big and if i put @2x after the name it doesnt work.

    Going to have another go now.
     
  6. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #6
    I don't user summerboard so I don't really know how it works. When you replace them in the theme folder, do you respring from within winterboard or somewhere else?
     
  7. AMC89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #7
    Winterboard.

    I have made some progress. I need to change every icon image? Not just the one name icon@2x.png. Is there a better method?
     
  8. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #8
    Well if you only want to change the home screen icon then yeah that's the only icon you need to change. It might have a different name for different apps. Theming is anything but quick :p
     
  9. AMC89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #9
    So I see haha. Addictive all the same. Just found app info to help me create bundle files. Only problem is with one of my icons has a white background. Any advice?
     
  10. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #10
    Yeah it is pretty addictive.

    You have to use icons that were made for the z|ui theme since you're using that theme because themes add icon masks or whatever they are so only certain icons will look right. Again, screenshots would be helpful.
     
  11. AMC89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #11
    See the installous icon. Has like a white border. (hope the screenshot uploaded ok)
     
  12. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #12
  13. AMC89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #13
    no idea why tapatalk didn't upload the image but here it is
     

    Attached Files:

  14. AMC89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #14
    icon is from z|ui thread by the way and I have a variation of this icon which also came up the same. Thanks for your patience mate.
     
  15. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #15
    I'm guessing it's actually the icon has a white background but I really don't know how to check if that's the case or not. I'd ask you to send it to me so I can try it but I don't have installous installed. Check with the person who uploaded that icon or wait for someone else who can help you here.
     
  16. AMC89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #16
    could you try it with a random app just to see if it works for you?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. ZCherub macrumors 6502a

    ZCherub

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    GA, USA
    #17
    lol! Nice choice of a "random app" - especially here...
     
  18. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #18
    I don't have to. It obviously has a white background. You have to ask the poster or someone with photo editing skills to remove the white background.

    2012-07-17 10.30.59 pm.png
     
  19. AMC89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #19
    huh? this is the icon which is not working for me and I have asked 3bs to use the icon with a random app on his device
     
  20. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #20
    We don't like Installous here at MacRumors. That's what he's referring to.
     
  21. ZCherub macrumors 6502a

    ZCherub

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    GA, USA
    #21
    A quick search of "installous" (or a quick browsing of the forum rules above) should answer your questions...
     
  22. AMC89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #22
    ok. Apologies if i have offended anybody. Guess it depends your reasons for using it. Can I still get some help with this?
     
  23. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
  24. AMC89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012

Share This Page