1. GeneralGriffin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    #1
    Hey everyone. I am having issues trying to ssh into my iMac. I want to ssh from my MacBook Air into my iMac. Both are running Lion. When I try to connect it asks for my password 3 times then says: Permission denied (public key,keyboard-interactive). I am positive I am typing my password correctly.
     
  2. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    What is the exact command you are typing? Also what are the usernames on both computers?
     
  3. GeneralGriffin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    #3
    Why do you need the usernames? just curious.

    exact command is:

    ssh username@xx.xxx.xxx.xxx

    I am using the external ip
     
  4. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #4
    If the usernames are the same on both systems then you don't need to specify the username in the SSH command. If the usernames are different then the username has to be specified in the SSH command. That is why I was wanting to know what they were.
     
  5. GeneralGriffin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    They are different. I have specified the username. I was able to ssh into my mac before. I have a second iMac that after I shhed into it (using the same command) I can't ssh into my iMac. It gives me that error.
     
  6. kafunanapah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    #6
    Is "Remote Login" enabled in the iMac's System Preferences?
     
  7. GeneralGriffin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
  8. Foogoofish macrumors regular

    Foogoofish

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #8
    I am no expert, but something to do with enabling the Superuser on the comp you are trying to connect to? I had this problem before, but if someone could explain / you could google it, that might help.
     
  9. GeneralGriffin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    #9
    I don't have the superuser enabled on any of my macs. But yet I could still ssh into it before.
     
  10. assembled macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #10
    are both macs on the same internal network ?

    if they are then use the local address not your public address.

    If you are trying to connect to the external address, do you have a port forward set on your router ?
     

Share This Page