Stack SSDs

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ronharp, May 24, 2018.

  1. ronharp macrumors newbie

    ronharp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #1
    I'm going to install a 1TB SSHD along with my current EVO 500 ssd. I've seen many videos re installing locations for a 2nd drive but am curious: Some videos install the SSD on top of the HDD. Can I stack the 2 drives in the HDD bay(only for ease of install)? They are both 2.5" drives. From what I've read so far it appears that there is room to do this. This is a mid 2010 Imac.
     
  2. ronharp thread starter macrumors newbie

    ronharp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #2
    Well, this is depressing. I can't tell if none of the "always very helpful" Mac folks are stumped or the right one has not read this . . . OR if the question is just too dumb to pay attention to. lol
     
  3. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #3
    If both 2.5" and the original HDD is 3.5" then yes there is adaptors to stack them.

    Just matter of power and data cables to the drives then.

    here is example of dual 2.5 for a 3.5 bay:
    [​IMG]
    --- Post Merged, May 25, 2018 ---
    You did not say which imac you have which may be a reason for lack of repyly
     
  4. ronharp thread starter macrumors newbie

    ronharp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #4
    Thank you so much. Not sure if my "sense of humor", such as it is, was going to offend anyone. Should I have put the 27" along with the mid 2010 imac in my original post? I'm never quite sure how much difference there is between the two other than screen size but learning if slowly. I do have the OWC power splitter and their red a data cable.
     
  5. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #5
    Some newer imac I think had different HDDs.

    So the adaptor I showed you will fit and allow 2x2.5" drives inside ur imac.
     
  6. ronharp thread starter macrumors newbie

    ronharp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #6
    Thanks again. Adapter on the way.
     
  7. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #7
    The important question is:
    Do you have TWO SATA-compliant connections on the iMac's motherboard?
     
  8. ronharp thread starter macrumors newbie

    ronharp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #8
    Judging from all the videos I've looked at there is an unused connection on the logic board and I have a cable in one of the kits to use that.
    Thanks, I can't get enough comments to check out before opening this beast up.
     
  9. Dopeyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
    #9
    I'm not sure about the 21.5" iMac, but in my 2011 27" iMac I have my 2 ssd's in the same space as the original 3.5" drive. I didn't tape them down or anything. They're just there, hanging. Obviously I removed the original drive for those 2 drives to fit there.
     
  10. ronharp thread starter macrumors newbie

    ronharp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #10
    I'm pretty much all set up to install the SSD&SSHD in stacked formation in the 3.5" HDD space. I bought a couple of extra brackets before seeing one I liked best but am not out too much non essential purchases. I wrecked a screwdriver trying to get the screws out of the old HD bracket. They are really tight after 8 years, so, will find a local with better quality tools this morning to get the job done. When "The Mac Man" installed the new SSD for me he left it hanging 'cause the desk top was not going to be moving around. This did not go over well with my type "A" personality even though he was correct. I will have both drives secured when done. So many ways to accomplish this and perhaps the easiest one would be to connect the 2nd drive by USB/SATA cable with only plugging into the USB to accomplish the end result and not a great deal of speed loss apparently.
    I sincerely appreciate the comments.
     
  11. Dopeyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
    #11
    Those were my thoughts exactly when I just left them hanging. My iMac isn't going anywhere. It's stationary on my desk.

    Going the external USB route would be easier. But using the extra internal SATA connection would be much better in the long run. You'll be happier.
     
  12. ronharp thread starter macrumors newbie

    ronharp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #12
    That's the direction I'm heading. Just got back from having my bracket from old HDD dismantled. I stripped my screwdrivers trying to unscrew them. I hope I don't run into hard ones once the mac is opened.
     
  13. Dopeyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
  14. ronharp thread starter macrumors newbie

    ronharp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #14
    I want to thank everyone for their advice. As it turned out, it seems I have one of those Imacs with no second data plug-in. SO, I left the SSHD in to have room for windows and, so far, placed the SSD as an external drive with the slow USB II connection. I'm sure I will have a better use for the SSD speed down the road sooner or later.

    Thanks again
    Ron
     
  15. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #15
    What a shame :(

    My imac had only one sata so I pulled the optical and put the drive in there.

    same with my macbook and macbook pro
     
  16. ronharp thread starter macrumors newbie

    ronharp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #16
    Talk about a senior moment. That was the only option I looked at until I ran across the stacked solution in the main drive bay. I completely forgot the optical drive bay solution. I even bought the adapter to install it there. I see another tear down after I get some yard work done around here.

    TKS
     
  17. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #17
    lol

    my imac has 240gb ssd and a 250gb hdd in optical same setup in my macbook pro.
    bought caddy and the optical from the imac is now usb.

    bought mac mini now so the drives from the imac going in the mini and the imac will get some other drives I got laying around and sold.
     
  18. tubeexperience macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    #18
    I think the more immediate concern is: How are you even going to connect the 2nd drive?
     
  19. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #19
    easy once the optical is out as just use the optical connector with a bay adaptor.

    some larger screened imacs had a spare unused sata plug on motherboard.
     
  20. ronharp thread starter macrumors newbie

    ronharp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #20
    Correct about the unused sata plug on motherboard. Unfortunately, mine turned out did not have one(after tearing it down to make the discovery). After making my "purchases" of the data doubler to use the optical bay and the stack kit to use the original HDD bay and viewing a bunch of videos on how to use the area between the HDD bay and the optical bay just under the logic board, which is more technical than I want to tackle, I ran across a thread discussing using a USB connection with an SSD. Not quite as speedy but easiest with the least probability of error of installation. I'm going with this last solution for, at least a while, to see how it works out. So what I have left to do is install windows 10 on the 1TB SSHD and run with it. I still have the choice of setting the SSHD or the SSD as default startup disc. Not as fast startup as a straight SSD setup but everything else has sufficient speed for my personal use . . . . so far. The ironic thing for me is that after spending a somewhat small amount of money for these adapters to find out I already had on hand the cable to plug the SSD into the USB without spending a dime. Story of my life. lol
     
  21. Dopeyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
    #21
    I think we all skipped the main question of which iMac you were planning on upgrading??
     
  22. ronharp thread starter macrumors newbie

    ronharp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #22
    That should be in a couple of early posts. Mid 2010 27" Imac 11,3, 3.2 GHz i3 w/12 GB Memory. If there is anything else I should post just let me know
     
  23. Dopeyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
    #23
    Ahhhh, ok. Yup, I missed it.

    Instead of the slow usb connection, go with the firewire 800. Much faster!
     
  24. BugeyeSTI macrumors 65816

    BugeyeSTI

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    #24
    You sure the extra sata connection is not there? I have a mid 2010 27’ iMac (11,3 2.8 GHz i5 w/32GB memory) and just installed a SSD using the extra port. When I first looked for the port by tilting the logic board forward I saw nothing and was worried the port wasn’t on the board at all. I only found the port after I removed the logic board completely to replace the old thermal paste on the cpu and gpu as well as replacing the pram backup battery.. To be clear, I have a sata port for the main HDD, a sata port for the SSD and a sata port for the optical drive... All on the logic board
     

Share This Page