Stack V3 - How to use it??

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by olimits7, Oct 13, 2009.

  1. olimits7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    I installed Stack V3 on my iPhone, and I now see it listed under my "Settings" screen, however, I don't know how to use it now.

    There is no icon on the springboard, so I don't know what I need to do to stack my icons.

    Does anyone know what I need to do; so I can stack icons in "Stack V3"??

    Thank you,

    olimits7
     
  2. Mess macrumors 6502

    Mess

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
  3. jayeskreezy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #3
    how did you do that? That was hilarious the link on here. What program did you use to get it to control the screen that way?
     
  4. polobreaka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
  5. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Anyone know how to change the first icon that you see in a stack? It seems that it isn't always consistent for me and I want it to be a specific item in the stack to show in the front.
     
  6. sparrky macrumors 6502a

    sparrky

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #7
    I have mine set to "single icon" and the first app I add is the one that shows on the stack. After adding my first app, I delete the 3 apps that are in there by default. Then the first app you added will now be the one on the top left corner, and the one that represents the entire stack. Hopefully that made sense.

    Apparently the developer is still working on re-arranging the icons within the stack, so for now the only way I know of is making sure the app you want is added first.
     
  7. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Well, without the Single Icon feature I think it may show in front the app that's in the middle... I kept taking out and re adding apps until the one I wanted was in the center and now it shows up as the icon in the front.

    The only stack I have now is a Music stack. I keep my iPhone very close to looking stock, so I just replaced iPod with a Music stack with Pandora, iPod, SimplifyMedia and Shazam and put it where the iPod icon was. Now it still looks really close. I don't know what I guess I can make more stacks. It's really fast, categories sucks like that.
     
  8. sparrky macrumors 6502a

    sparrky

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #9
    I'm doing the same thing. I've had so many themes, but IMO nothing beats the stock theme, so Stacks helps me have the best of both worlds. I still have categories so I can tuck away any apps I have already put into a stack and get rid of clutter. So far I have 6 stacks and you'd never know by looking at it. I love this feature!
     
  9. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Yea, I just hid the apps that I put in stacks with SBSettings. It's so much faster than using a category. I have too many games to fit in one stack though... I guess that'll stay a category.
     
  10. sparrky macrumors 6502a

    sparrky

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #11
    I was wondering if that would work. I was too afraid it'd mess something up or that it would hide the icon in the stack. Good to know! Now I can get rid of some categories. ;)
     
  11. polobreaka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #12
    if your stack say have more than 9 apps, wat happens in grid view? is there another page to swipe to? or is it like snowleopard where you can scroll downwards?
     
  12. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    Actually, I never tried... I just didn't add them because they are already hidden and in a category. I'd have to remove them and then add them again. I guess I can try it out and just add random icons and see how it works.
     
  13. polobreaka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #14

    awesome! let us know how it works! it would be so nice to have it scroll up/down with finger swipe instead of pages.
     
  14. bripab007 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
  15. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    Doesn't work. The ones over a whole screen never get added...

    Also, I found out that the third icon in your list becomes the one on the front of the multi icon stack image. The ones behind it must be second and then first.
     
  16. polobreaka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #17
    aww thats a bummer. it would be a nice feature though..hopefully the dev can incorporate something like this.
     
  17. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #18
    The one thing that throws me off now is the names... if the stack is not on the Dock the name is kind of overlapped by the icon itself (using multi icon at least)
     
  18. sparrky macrumors 6502a

    sparrky

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #19
    Have you tried single icon? It's just an ordinary icon instead of a stacked icon. Looks just like stock app icons, and doesn't overlap the labels.

    Of course, you'd have to re-arrange all your apps again to get the correct ones showing. :eek:
     
  19. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #20
    Yea, I think I'm going to try to take a screenshot of my icons and then crop them out so I have the cascaded icon and then scale it to 95% or something so it is a little smaller and doesn't cover them. Then I'll just change the icon to the default stack icon and replace the image.

    Not even close to a simple solution, but it wouldn't be worth it if it was! ;)
     
  20. sparrky macrumors 6502a

    sparrky

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #21
    ^Ha, so true. :D That's not a bad idea at all, actually. I like the idea of the cascading icons because I keep forgetting which icons are actually stacks.

    I'm sorta mad at myself for not trying this before today. It's awesome and sooo much better than categories. Almost switched to PogoPlank but I'm still on the fence about it.
     

Share This Page