stacks advise needed!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by floppitydoppity, Aug 17, 2008.

  1. floppitydoppity macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #1
    hi, hope someone can advise.
    when i click on my documents stack on the dock it opens in a fan but with black dashes and not a image of what the documents is.
    i am sure it is simple to fix but i am stumped!

    any help grateful! i only had imac since weds and bit confused....
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Have you tried to right-click (control-click, two finger on the pad click) on the stack and exploring your options for viewing? Change them and see what happens.

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. floppitydoppity thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #3
    hi tried it. in grid and list it shows the documents but in fan it doesn't.
    any other ideas?
     
  4. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #4
    You can try a fix by resetting the PRAM. Restart your Mac and when you hear the chime immediately hold down "Command, Option, P and R" keys. Wait for the chime to sound again then let go and allow the Mac to start up. This will clear any stuck memory.
     
  5. floppitydoppity thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
  6. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #6
    The one with alt on it
     
  7. floppitydoppity thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #7
    thanks.
    its very confusing when you have always used windows.
    i will try it.:)
     
  8. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #8
    Trust me on this one... it will be worth the learning curve and transition

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  9. floppitydoppity thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #9
    just out of interest, what does pram mean. by the way it worked-- thanks
     
  10. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #10
    University of Wisconsin Knowledgebase

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  11. floppitydoppity thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #11
    ok thanks

    just out of interest if i did something i regret, is there an equivalent to system restore on pc.

    i presume time machine only any good if i get time capsule or an external HD
     
  12. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #12
    Zapping the PRAM is not malicious and shouldn't be anything you regret

    However, you are correct, for Time Machine to be any good you have to use it... with either Time Capsule or another drive

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  13. floppitydoppity thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008

Share This Page