Resolved Star Wars Episode 1 Racer working on Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by keysofanxiety, May 11, 2015.

  1. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #1
    Hi all,

    I've recently got a joystick and I've been playing a number of great old games (Star Wars Rebel Assault 2, Descent 2). Unfortunately I can't get Star Wars Racer working whatsoever. I've got the original DVDs, though I've also tried downloading the ISO from abandonware websites.

    I've tried:

    - Running in Windows 8.1 with all the recommended compatibility settings/exe patches: when I did get it running it was so buggy/graphic glitchy that it wasn't worth playing
    - Running in Boxer (doesn't work as it's Win95 rather than DOS)
    - Created a Win95 Virtual Machine and ran it there -- sadly due to Parallels graphics card it wouldn't work
    - Downloaded the Mac OS9 version of it, and ran in Sheepshaver ... absolutely no luck

    GOG.com don't have a copy and neither does anybody else (from what I can see). I'm not opposed to paying for a copy, as long as it works on OS X then that's fine - I'll even take a working version for 64-bit Win 8.1.

    Could anybody provide any advice or possibly link me to a working copy for purchase? There is a strong community for getting this game working but an in-depth search would suggest I'm not alone in struggling to get this game working on newer hardware :(

    Thank you for any help you can offer!
     
  2. Ainze macrumors regular

    Ainze

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #2
    Have you tried using Parallels with a version of Windows higher than 95 (to enable 3D acceleration) but lower than 8 (to avoid compatibility issues), like XP or 2000?

    Or possibly using a Wine wrapper like Crossover or Wineskin?
     
  3. keysofanxiety thread starter macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #3
    I've tried Wineskin & Cider wrapping without any luck. I haven't thought of trying XP so I'll definitely do that when I get home! Thank you for the suggestion.
     
  4. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
  5. keysofanxiety thread starter macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #5
    Okay, thanks for everybody's help. I got it working through Crossover. I downloaded a slightly different version of Racer, which I found here: http://www.gameswin.org/download11.php?id=489&plat=rip&l=en

    I then extracted the file and moved the folder to my Applications folder. I created a new Windows XP bottle in Crossover, and set the SWEP1RCR.EXE file to be the main application. This version of Racer doesn't require installing, you just run it from the folder. So it's a little different.

    I then found that there were some issues with the joystick mapping -- whenever moving hard-left, the damn pod went vertical and stayed there. There was no way to delete the settings within the game. If you have this problem, edit the current_control.map file with TextEdit, so it looks like the below (basically deleting the roll left/right options)

    ####### JOYSTICK MAPPINGS

    JOYSTICK BUTTON=HAT_UP FUNCTION=CAMERA_CYCLE
    JOYSTICK BUTTON=HAT_DOWN FUNCTION=LOOK_BACK
    JOYSTICK BUTTON=2 FUNCTION=BRAKE
    JOYSTICK BUTTON=1 FUNCTION=THRUST
    JOYSTICK BUTTON=3 FUNCTION=BOOST
    JOYSTICK BUTTON=HAT_RIGHT FUNCTION=ROLL_RIGHT
    JOYSTICK BUTTON=HAT_LEFT FUNCTION=ROLL_LEFT
    JOYSTICK BUTTON=4 FUNCTION=REPAIR
    JOYSTICK AXIS=X FUNCTION=TURN
    JOYSTICK AXIS=Y FUNCTION=PITCH
    JOYSTICK AXIS=Z FUNCTION=ANALOG_THROTTLE
    JOYSTICK AXIS=Z FUNCTION=BRAKE AXIS_RANGE=POSITIVE

    JOYSTICK AXIS=Y FLIP_AXIS
    JOYSTICK AXIS=Z FLIP_AXIS
    JOYSTICK ENABLED=TRUE


    Also to get it running as best it can on OS X, edit the video.cfg file through TextEdit, so that it looks like the below:

    VIDEO REFLECTIONS=ON
    VIDEO ZEFFECTS=ON
    VIDEO DYNAMIC_LIGHTING=ON
    VIDEO VSYNC=ON
    VIDEO LENSFLARE=ON
    VIDEO ENGINEEXHAUST=ON
    VIDEO TEXTURE_RES=1
    VIDEO MODEL_DETAIL=3
    VIDEO DRAWDISTANCE=3


    All working with a joystick now, smooth as anything, no bugs (other than the stupid control mapping, but that can be sorted by manually editing the text configuration settings).

    Thanks for all your help everybody, hope this helps somebody else :)
     
  6. tredstone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #6
    Thanks for starting this thread! Been trying to figure this out on my mac for years...
     
  7. keysofanxiety thread starter macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #7
    No worries at all buddy! Did it work at all? I'm more than happy to help where I can to get it up-and-running for you as well. Please let me know if you need any assistance! :)
     
  8. urbanracer34 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    #8
    Thanks for this! I was very happy when I was able to get it working in singleplayer.

    Now... If someone could figure out some way to get IPX working for multiplayer in crossover, that would be great! (STAR WARS RACER is one of the only reasons I keep a couple PowerPC Macs around, for multiplayer races)
     
  9. alfveg97 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    #9
    Hey, I've been trying to get Star Wars Episode 1 Racer for my Mac which runs OSX, and I've tried the same steps as you've with Crossover and the link you have provided. But when I run de SWEP1RCR.EXE with CrossOver, the blue loading bar gets stuck in the middle and never charges de game.

    Did you have the same problem as I do?? Can you help me getting with it??
    Many thaanks!! ;)
     
  10. keysofanxiety thread starter macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #10
    Hi there,

    Was it a new Windows XP bottle you did? If it doesn't work, try a Windows 98 bottle? Is Crossover also fully up-to-date?
     
  11. alfveg97 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    #11
    Yes, it was a Windows XP bottle, and the Crossover it is completely up to date. I'm going to try with the W98 and I'll tell you. Thanks
    EDIT 1: It stucks anyway, there is no way the blue bar fills completely.
     
  12. keysofanxiety thread starter macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #12
    Okay, when you first set up the bottle, did you install the application? There should be an option for 'use files in this folder' or something like that. It does actually kick up an error ...

    Tell you what dude when I finish work I'll setup a new bottle and screenshot each process as I do it -- should be back in like 4 hours (sorry to keep you waiting!)
     
  13. alfveg97, Aug 3, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2015

    alfveg97 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    #13
    OOOOOHH. Many thanks man, you're truly helping me with it!!. :):)
    EDIT 1. I've done it!!! I've just tried again with Windows XP and it works fantastic! Now i've got another issue... I've crossover on the free trial,and when the trial finishes, will I loose the game?? If it's this way, what should I do?
     
  14. keysofanxiety thread starter macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #14
    Arrrrghh I wish I read this edit before I painstakingly took like 18 screenshots :D:D:D Really pleased you got it working though buddy, that's the important thing :)

    You won't lose the game when the trial's over; it'll keep your bottle but you just can't run it until you activate.
     
  15. alfveg97 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    #15
    Many thanks anyway for your help :)
     
  16. astalavista2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    #16
    hi everyone
    thnaks for all these useful info
    however i don't mange to succeed
    I have installed both crossover 13 then 14.
    tried with both win98 and win xp bottles.
    before I am looking for the file you specified and not the folder.

    but i am still stuck with the blue bar at middle when running

    I am running macbook pro - ox X Yosemite

    Any thoughts? Please

    thank you
     
  17. keysofanxiety thread starter macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #17
    Okay, let's run over this step-by-step.

    1) Open CrossOver, and click Bottle>New Bottle

    1.png

    2) Name what you'll be calling the app. Use Windows XP.

    2.png

    3) Click 'Install a Windows application'

    3.png

    4) Scroll down to 'other application'

    4.png

    5) Click 'Choose Installer Folder'

    5.png

    6) Navigate to the Star Wars Racer folder in your Applications folder, and click 'Install files from this directory'

    6.png

    7) You'll get this error. Click 'Skip this Step'.

    7.png

    8) Another error. Again, click 'Skip this Step'.

    8.png

    9) Once that's done, it'll take you back to the splash screen. Single-click the bottle you created and click 'Run Command'

    9.png

    10) Navigate back to the Star Wars Racer folder in your Applications, and select the 'SWEP1RCR.EXE' file.

    10.png
     
  18. keysofanxiety thread starter macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #18
    11) Select the SWEP1RCR.EXE file.

    11.png

    12) Once that's done, click 'Run'. Should work fine, hopefully without the blue bar freezing. Give it 10 minutes for the first run if you're not using an SSD.

    12.png

    13) Click 'Save Command as a Launcher' and click the red 'X' at the top-left of the 'Run Command' window to close it. In about 10-15 seconds, it should create a new icon to run the game.

    13.png

    Did this work?
     
  19. astalavista2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    #19
    Hello
    thanks for all these useful information.
    yes, it works now... Great!

    Few issues:
    • At the start, I got few issues with the display, but then the app resized automatically
    • The app runs full screen automically ==> how to run in a window? or exit from the fullscreen when app is frozen?
    • ==>this question because when I tried to change the settings/keyboard controls, the app came frozen ==> and then I had to wait 10 minutes (why?) because I couldn't reduce the window / exit from the full screen ;-(
    Thanks again
     
  20. keysofanxiety thread starter macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #20
    Hey, thanks for your reply. I'm really pleased to hear it's working for you now.

    I'm not sure what to do about the full screen/window I'm afraid. If the app is frozen you can press CMD+Alt+Esc to quit it.

    The settings/keyboard controls are definitely one of the bugs you'll encounter. Therefore I recommend you manually edit the controls outside of the app.

    The location for the mapping is:

    Racer Folder>DATA>config>current>current_control.map

    So right click current_control.map and open with TextEdit. From there you can change the key mapping and save it from there. Next time you open Racer, the settings will be saved.

    Honestly I've encountered no other bugs in the game, other than when you're trying to change the controls (for whatever reason).

    Hope this helps. :)
     
  21. RascalRaskin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    #21
    Hey y'all,

    I've been trying to get this working FOREVER now, and this is the closest I've come. However, after following the instructions the game starts up in a small box that shows only the top left portion of the screen. The sound works and the graphics are fine except for not being able to see everything!

    Any idea on how to fix this?

    I'm on a macbook pro running 10.10.3

    Thank you so much!
     
  22. keysofanxiety thread starter macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #22
    Ensure Crossover is fully up-to-date. Restart your Mac with Reopen Windows when logging back in disabled. Also update OS X to 10.10.5. Reset PRAM (hold CMD, Alt, P, R on startup until you hear the Apple boot chime 3 times, then let go).

    Any luck?
     
  23. secretanchitman macrumors 6502

    secretanchitman

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #23
    This is great! Thank you for the detailed instructions - I will try out the game this weekend. I have been dying to play this for years :)
     
  24. L23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    #24
    Thnx, this is great indeed! Got it working with the detailed instructions of keysofanxiety without problems.

    I also tried to get it working in Wineskin, but I don't know how to build a wrapper. So I simply used Porting Kit and downloaded the wrapper of Anno 1602 (should work with other game wrappers too) and copied the game folder in there and that works too. Maybe a new Wineskin version with better compatibility or because all the wrappers in Porting Kit are OSX El Capitan compatible. I saw no differences between Crossover and Wineskin, but Wineskin is free.
     
  25. DearthnVader macrumors regular

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #25
    Download wineskins winery from here:

    http://sourceforge.net/projects/wineskin/?source=typ_redirect



    Open wineskins winery, under Wrapper Version chose Update then Wineskin-2.6.2.

    Under Engines click the + and select WSWINE1.7.15NoFlicker and click download and install.

    Click on WSWINE1.7.15NoFlicker and select Create New Blank Wrapper, name your wrapper whatever you like and click OK. You should get a prompt to download a few things, just go ahead. When it's done click View Wrapper in Finder.

    Right click it and Show Package Contents. Double Click on Wineskins and chose Advanced. Chose Install Software, then Copy a Folder Inside, chose the StarWarsRacer folder, then SWEP1RCR.EXE.

    That's it, the game should work now.
     

Share This Page