StarCraft 1.18 installer (now free game) doesn't work

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Caesar_091, Apr 20, 2017.

  1. Caesar_091 macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #1
  2. Ritsuka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
  3. Caesar_091 thread starter macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #3
    I got the "The application “StarCraft Launcher.app” can’t be opened." error on two different Macs (MacPro mid 2015 and a late 2008 MacBook).
     
  4. PinkyMacGodess macrumors 68040

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #4
    And right clicking and clicking open does nothing?
     
  5. Janichsan macrumors 65816

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #5
    What version of macOS are you running on these? As it seems, OS X 10.11 is the minimum.
     
  6. Caesar_091 thread starter macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #6
    No, same error :mad:

    I'm running 10.12.3 on the Mac Pro and 10.11.6 on the MacBook.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 21, 2017 ---
    Ops sorry! My Mac Pro is a mid 2012 model not a 2015 one... that was a typo ;)
    --- Post Merged, Apr 21, 2017 ---
    Update: looking inside app's package I noticed that the "StarCraft Launcher" file (the one inside "StarCraft Launcher.app/Contents/MacOS/") was not showing an executable icon so I changed permissions using BatChmod (I've added executable permissions to my user, my group and everyone) and now the app opens.

    But I having a connection error now and the BLZBNTBTS0000004A help ticket from Blizzard doesn't helps :(
     
  7. Count Blah macrumors 68030

    Count Blah

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    US of A
    #7
    I had to remove some incompatible Blizzard resource files on my local system first, before it worked. I wish I could remember where exactly.
     
  8. Caesar_091 thread starter macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #8
    I removed the app Battle.net.app and from /Users/Shared/ all the Blizzard/Battle.net stuff... and now the download has started.

    Thanks ;)
     

Share This Page