Starcraft 1 Crashes on 10.6.6

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by fuserofworlds, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. fuserofworlds macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Location:
    Near the Pacific.
    #1
    Okay, I have searched a bit and cannot seem to find a recent post on this. I just got Starcraft 1 from Blizzard.com. I did the whole Mac OS X installer deal on my 2008 white MacBook. However, whenever I try to run Starcraft I only get as far as the "Startup Options" window. After I click okay, the app crashes.

    My friend installed Starcraft 1 in the same manner I did on his 2010 MacBook Pro, and it works fine for him. I am not sure what the problem is; some sites suggest I download Rosetta but I cannot find my Snow Leopard Install Disk and I can run other PowerPC apps with no issue.

    Advice, anyone?
     
  2. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    If I recall correctly, the Macbooks with Intel GMA X1300 is not compatible with programs that run in 256 colours... Hence Diablo II etc. are unplayable on it :( I don't know if there was ever a patch for it but there used to be many threads about the issue.
     
  3. bluebomberman macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #3
    Did you patch Starcraft to the latest version? (Many months ago I installed Starcraft but it was unplayable without a patch.)
     
  4. mastercool10 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #4
    Sadly, I'm having the same issue :(

    Whenever I choose to browse through games on b.net SC crashes.

    It used to work perfectly before. Not sure what's going on.
     
  5. Littleodie914 macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #5
    I don't think this is the case. I can start SC1 on my Macbook with the GMA X1300 without any problems, and play single-player just fine.

    That having been said though, I do experience the same crash as the OP when joining a game. I got to the point where I was downloading the map, and it immediately crashed to desktop. :(
     
  6. fuserofworlds thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Location:
    Near the Pacific.
    #6
    mastercool10 and Littleodie914, my problem is in single player; when I double click the shortcut on the desktop it bounces in the dock a couple of times then disappears.

    bluebomberman, I would patch it except I do not know how to download the patch without being able to open the program. Also I am not certain how recent my version of SC is.

    [​IMG]

    This is as far as I get when I open SC. After I click "OK", the program quits.
     
  7. bluebomberman macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #7
    Can't you just download and install the standalone patch? instead of relying on autoupdate?

    :confused: I might be missing something here...
     
  8. rachellarissa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    my problem is worse! i try downloading the installer for starcraft 1 and the installer downloads ok but when i fire it up it just get to a part where download unauthorized. . any ideas?
     
  9. Teggy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    #9

Share This Page