STARCRAFT 2 and teh macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Kalafut, Mar 9, 2008.

  1. Kalafut macrumors regular

    Kalafut

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    pocatello
    #1
    so do you think that my mcabook will be able to handle starcraft 2, i use to run counter strike source on my mac.
     
  2. menthol moose macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #2
    They haven't really released requirements for Starcraft 2, but I think you'll be fine, except for maybe the graphics.
     
  3. mrrish macrumors regular

    mrrish

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #3
    depends if your macbook is running gma 950 or x3100. In either case though, you are looking at horrible performance.
     
  4. Hankster macrumors 68020

    Hankster

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
  5. Kalafut thread starter macrumors regular

    Kalafut

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    pocatello
    #5
    i just want it to run if i cared about graphics i would have stopped playing starcraft 1 a long time ago.
     
  6. bstreiff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX, USA
    #6
    I wouldn't be terribly concerned; Blizzard makes a habit of designing games to run on hardware normal people have when their games are released. I would expect a GMA X3100 to perform acceptably. (Wikipedia notes that SC2 on Windows will use DirectX 9.)

    Of course, then the question becomes: When will it be released? ;D
     
  7. iMpathetic macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #7
    In other news, scientists have discovered snow is indeed cold.
     
  8. Jpoon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    I bet it'll be fine :D! Bad graphics of course, like everyone else suggests.

    Just do what all the other people that play games and own an Apple computer do. Build your own tower... for half the cost of buying a Mac.

    That's the only way I get to truly enjoy my games. But for running around campus and doing homework and other menial tasks, <3 my Macbook.
     
  9. Ra226 macrumors newbie

    Ra226

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny Socal
    #9
    *crossing fingers*

    I'm sure our macbooks will be able to handle it.
    Yay for intel chips :apple:
     
  10. Kalafut thread starter macrumors regular

    Kalafut

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    pocatello
    #10
    ugg i hate using windows! i hope it runs on my macbook.
     
  11. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #11
    blizzard has not yet stated the requirements for the game. A while back, a blizzard rep (rbarris) posted on these forums and said that they were not sure whether the game would run on intel integrated graphics. My guess is that it will because blizzard optimizes the crap out of their games, but it remains to be seen.
     
  12. menthol moose macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #12
    Really, what a breakthrough! I had always thought snow was boiling hot.
     
  13. iMpathetic macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #13
    Pretty much the same shock you got when you discovered Windows is inferior? ;)
     
  14. thies macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #14
    Given how badly macbooks handle even old games I expect SC2 to be terrible if it runs at all.
     
  15. Kalafut thread starter macrumors regular

    Kalafut

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    pocatello
    #15
    well F blizzard then i guess i will just have to buy an imac.
     
  16. lapetitefurie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    the Tardis
    #16
    Warcraft

    I have to say...while SC2 may be a different issue, I'm having no trouble running WoW, and I'm looking forward to playing the new expansion...when it comes out...
     
  17. Tom B. macrumors 65816

    Tom B.

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #17
    Blizzard are known for making their games playable on older machines, so I'm pretty sure that X3100 MacBooks should run StarCraft II at about 20-30 fps on low settings. I'll be happy with that.

    However, if not, my little brother is saving up for a custom gaming PC (he wants to play Age of Conan and other newer games), so I may have to contribute to his fund. :)
     
  18. trip1ex macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #18
    As with any games of the few years I expect the MB to perform unacceptably except for the truly desperate who like frame rates under 30 fps on lowest settings with no action on the screen.
     
  19. gusto5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #19
    I imagine it would run as well as WoW does on your macbook, so probably not too poorly, but probably not as anesthetically lust-worthy as if you were playing it on a macbook pro or a mac pro =)
     

Share This Page