Starcraft 2 Beta Announced

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by haiggy, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. haiggy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #1
  2. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #2
    Wouldn't mind getting in... but RTS was never my thing . . . but still, would be interested. :D Wonder if I'll get an invite.
     
  3. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #3
    Awesome! I can't wait to play Starcraft 2! And Diablo 3, by the way. And Crysis 2, lol.

    Unfortunately, I have thesis this year, so I might have to delay my thirst for these games until next year! And hopefully by that time I'll have a computer fast enough to do these games justice.
     
  4. Dr. McKay macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium, Europe
    #4
    I just bought a second-hand 24" iMac (2.8Ghz Core2Duo, 4Gb RAM, 320Gb HD, ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro 256Mb) and I really hope that the system requirements for SC2 won't be too steep.

    I'm probably going to play the game in Bootcamp anyway, since there are heaps of bargains to be found of "older" windows games (c&c3 for pc almost costs nothing now, while the Mac-version is still at full price).

    Anyway, Starcraft 2 : anyone have any idea about the final sys reqs ?
     
  5. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Why would you play in Windows? You know all Blizzard games have the Mac and Windows version on the same disc, and run at about the same FPS right?
     
  6. Cander macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #6
    I am pretty sure your rig will run it fine. Blizzard is conservative when it comes to specs.
     
  7. haiggy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #7
  8. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #8
    This is disappointing! I know that Blizzard has a stand alone development team for the Mac and they build off the same basic code base using switches. The low level engine of the game will be very similar to the WC3 engine (the actual drawing routines) while the higher level code will be modified, but that is all unified by that level. What this tells me though is that they are really revamping the engine and the Mac client still needs some work (the Mac development team is MUCH smaller then the PC one).

    Sad... but still, I'd play if I got an invite. :D
     
  9. Cander macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #9
  10. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
  11. haiggy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #11
    This is incorrect information. The link directs to an article with a writeup of the Starcraft General Discussion Forums. A Blizzard mod said there is no SC2 beta for Mac as of now.

    Starcraft GD Forum link:
    http://forums.battle.net/thread.html?topicId=23140583996&sid=3000 (See post 11)

    Someone said it may have to do with the fact that there aren't many configurations of Mac computers to play on vs. the number of configurations there are for PCs. A Mac beta isn't required at this point. Made sense to me....
     
  12. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #12
    Nah, if it was ready they would release it. It is just that they are still working on it. The WoW Mac development team was always about a month behind. It makes sense as well, because they have to wait for the release of the code from the primary development team before porting it over to the Mac. They aren't going to be doing this every day.

    I'm sure the Mac beta will be here soon.
     
  13. Cander macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #13
    Ahh. Well then Blizzard may have been fibbing when the beta specs got posted on the support page a couple weeks ago stating no Mac support for the first beta phase and Blizzard said that information was actually copy and pasted WoW beta information.
     
  14. MistaBungle macrumors 6502a

    MistaBungle

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    #14
    Meh, the only part I care about is the game launching mid2010. I've been waiting too damn long for this game.

    Ready to roll out!
     
  15. Dr. McKay macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium, Europe
    #16
    Not directly related to SC2 but...
    Once Steam is available for Mac and I find it's satisfactory (which means, on a par with its PC counterpart), I'll be deleting my bootcamp partition.
    Vista has been slowing down on me lately, and I've had apps simply refusing to run or simply crash for no reason. Takes me back to my Windows 95 days...

    Anyway, I've no intention of buying a Win7 license (or XP for that matter) so in all probability, it'll be bye bye bootcamp.

    In any case, for most of the time, I've been playing demos of Windows games I had always wanted to play. But ultimately, every one of them has been more or less a letdown. Even the highly acclaimed COD4 demo hasn't convinced me, neither did C&C 3 or RA3.

    For some reason, I've been playing the Civ4 demo and the Spore trial for over a week now on the Mac side and I'm hooked. I've reinstalled Warcraft 3 and am really looking forward to Starcraft 2 and Diablo 3 (really hope my machine will be up to scratch).
    I'm even going to download the WoW trial tonight.

    I used to play nothing but fighting and racing games (console) and FPS games on PC/Mac. I must be getting old :D
     
  16. LetUsHXCDance! macrumors newbie

    LetUsHXCDance!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #17
    I am in beta :p

    I run it on my Bootcamp, sadly, I cannot wait for the Mac beta. SCII definately blew my expectations, I have been following since the day it was announced and I have been dying for it. I love it, its amazing.
     
  17. nigameash macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Space: The Final Frontier
    #18
    I've been waiting for a key since forever but still havnt received one :(
     
  18. Dr. McKay macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium, Europe
    #19
    I received a mail from Blizzard this morning that I have been selected to test the Starcraft 2 beta.
    Unfortunately, I'll have to wait until Sunday afternoon to try it out. We're spending the easter weekend at my parents-in-law's house.

    Goes without saying that I'm itching to get started...
     
  19. Xodd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #20
    Me too Mckay! Received it today! Too excited. I won't be able to play it till Monday... sigh...
     
  20. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #21
    I should get a beta after all the crap they put me through with my account not long ago.
     
  21. jakeguy99 macrumors regular

    jakeguy99

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
  22. Dr. McKay macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium, Europe
    #23
    Just connected to my Battle.net account before I leave for the weekend, only to discover that I can't download the Mac client of the SC2 beta (it's greyed out).
    Weird, because in my beta profile settings it clearly says I have a Mac running OS X.5.8.
    Guess the mac beta client isn't available yet...
     
  23. Xexis macrumors member

    Xexis

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    #24
    anyone know the requirements for Mac? I have the beta for windblows but I'm afraid it's gonna lagg hella bad online cause of the latency and graphics.
     
  24. ShStylo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #25
    I've heard of people getting more than one beta key. Does that mean you can share them with others? Like if you got a beta key the first round does that mean you'll get one in the subsequent rounds or you get one and only one?

    Have not received mine yet either I only opt-in on the Mac side though.
     

Share This Page