Starcraft 2 crashes on launch

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by justhania, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. justhania macrumors newbie

    justhania

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    holland
    #1
    hi everybody last week i wanted to play Starcraft 2 again after not playing it for a while.
    so i dubbel klick on the icon in my dock and i see the standard launch screen, but for it get the inlog screen it crashes every time again and again.
    i already tried a re-instal, no good there same problem.
    i googled my ass of for a solution but all i can find are the early day problems from Starcraft 2 on the mac and every answer i get from those are wait for a pachs.

    i a'm ad a dead end as var as my knowledge of solving this problem go's.


    here are my specs


    Hardware:

    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,5
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.26 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 3 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP55.00AC.B03
    SMC Version (system): 1.47f2
    Serial Number (system): W8938KTE66D
    Hardware UUID: B8E62BBD-45A6-51B9-9E47-BFCA73F2E8BF
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled

    Software:

    System Software Overview:

    System Version: Mac OS X 10.6.6 (10J567)
    Kernel Version: Darwin 10.6.0
    Boot Volume: !
    Boot Mode: Normal
    Computer Name: ------------
    User Name: justhania
    Secure Virtual Memory: Enabled
    64-bit Kernel and Extensions: No
    Time since boot: 2 days 8:05

    Graphics/Displays:

    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M:

    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCI
    VRAM (Total): 256 MB
    Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x0863
    Revision ID: 0x00b1
    ROM Revision: 3427
    Displays:
    Color LCD:
    Resolution: 1280 x 800
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Built-In: Yes
    Display Connector:
    Status: No Display Connected

    and the error report.

    ================================================================================
    StarCraft II (B17326)
    Time: 2011-02-06 17:53:29.377
    Exe: /Applications/StarCraft II/Versions/Base17326/SC2.app
    Parameters: "/Applications/StarCraft II/Versions/Base17326/SC2.app/Contents/MacOS/SC2"
    Exe Built: Dec 15 2010 16:07:02
    User: justhania
    Computer: -----------
    Version: 1.2.0.17326
    Branch: branches/1.2.0
    Revision: 88242
    Locale: enGB
    ================================================================================

    EXC_BAD_ACCESS (0x00000001)
    EXC_BAD_ACCESS KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE 0x00000000

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ----------------------------------------
    Manual Stack Trace (ID:280583 Stack:0x00000000 + 0)
    ----------------------------------------

    92CC6935 CoreAudio IOA_Device::DownmixStereoPair(AudioBufferList*)+107
    92CA8228 CoreAudio IOA_SingleDevice::preProcessOutputData(AudioTimeStamp const&, HP_IOProc&)+34
    92CA7DC3 CoreAudio IOA_Device::CallIOProcs(AudioTimeStamp const&, AudioTimeStamp const&, AudioTimeStamp const&)+395
    92CA7B9A CoreAudio HP_IOThread::performIO(AudioTimeStamp const&, double)+620
    92CA4F5C CoreAudio HP_IOThread::WorkLoop()+2506
    92CA458D CoreAudio HP_IOThread::ThreadEntry(HP_IOThread*)+17
    92CA44A4 CoreAudio CAPThread::Entry(CAPThread*)+140
    92E9D85D libSystem.B __pthread_start+345
    92E9D6E2 libSystem.B _thread_start+34


    there is more but i cant post that much
     
  2. Akytarus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    #2
    Hi,

    I get the exact same error on my MBP 15" i7 - Mid 2010

    Any Ideas Anyone?!?!?

    Aky.

     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    Is there an option on Blizzard's site to manually download the update to version 1.2 (or whatever they're on) as a dmg?
     
  4. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #4
    I had this problem as well after I installed the 10.6.6 combo update..probably does the same with delta too. Fixed it by removing SC2 completely and reinstalling. After the install, let it autopatch you for an hour till you're current. :).

    EDIT: Don't worry - all achievements are saved in your Blizzard.net account ;)
     
  5. justhania thread starter macrumors newbie

    justhania

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    holland
    #5
    tnks blevins321 i'm gonna give it a try

    (ad school now so when ad home...)

    i dit re-instal but in a different folder so i would still have my save game's but i'l glaldy give those up if i'm abel te play again.:D
     
  6. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #6
    Blizzard lets you download your purchased games again (as long as you've already linked the account). You can login to the account and get a downloader to get you the game. Wasn't sure if you were just waiting because you left the disc at home or whatever :)
     
  7. justhania thread starter macrumors newbie

    justhania

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    holland
    #7
    my school has a proxy surver and the blizzard downloader works like a torent and thats wy i cant download it. and i shoud not be playing games on school :p
    but i'm home and gonna give it a try. i'l let you know
     
  8. justhania thread starter macrumors newbie

    justhania

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    holland
    #8
    compleet re-instal was a failure i still got the crash whit the same error log so it is not in the game itself (i was afraid of that).

    and i'm not really wanting to completely re-instal my mac.

    any other idee's

    i read somthing about using nszombie so i can find the bug but i don't understand ***** about it.
     

Share This Page