Starcraft 2: How bad can latency be?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by floyde, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. floyde macrumors 6502a

    floyde

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Monterrey, México
    #1
    Well I was just about to download Starcraft 2 but I'm not sure what to do with the whole region thing. I live in northern Mexico which is technically North America AFAIK, but by default I'm set to Latin America (for obvious language reasons). I have several issues with this though:

    - I prefer the English version, it usually has the more solid voice acting. Besides, the spanish version is usually done by spaniards, and their accent just sounds funny to us mexicans :p.

    - There are more players in North America than in Latin America, I think.

    - I would've gone and downloaded the english version but the site warned me that I could have latency issues. I'm not sure this is true, specially in my case. For example, in LA I could be playing against someone in Argentina who is thousands of miles away while in NA I could be playing with someone who is somewhere near like Texas. Even someone in Canada would be closer than a lot of people in South America, although I guess blizzard might try to match me with people from Mexico?

    Anyway, I'd much prefer the english version, do you guys think I would have latency issues?

    Thanks
     
  2. Durious macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
  3. floyde thread starter macrumors 6502a

    floyde

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Monterrey, México
    #3
    Yes, I'm pre-downloading the retail version which can be activated on tuesday. I don't know which region to choose though.
     
  4. Rithem macrumors 6502

    Rithem

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #4
    NA for sure. If you like the English version better I'd say just get the English version and go with NA for your region. Mexico isn't that far away.
     
  5. Meever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #5
    If you're not across several thousand miles of water or mountain ranges and third world countries, the latency won't be unplayable. Except a few ms though. Especially if you and your opponent have weaker connection.

    You can purchase the NA version through the North American blizzard website. Download now, and activate in a few days :D
     
  6. taru91 macrumors regular

    taru91

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Location:
    Monterrey, Nuevo León. México
    #6
    You won't have many latency issues for sure. I'm from Mexico too, and I've been playing online games like mmo's and fps without latency problems while using the horrible internet we have ahha. So you should be fine.

    Though if something gets to happen, I bet you can change servers easily ?
     
  7. Aldous11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    #7
    If you have a network link with low bandwidth then it's an easy matter of putting several in parallel to make a combined link with higher bandwidth, but if you have a network link with bad latency then no amount of money can turn any number of them into a link with good latency.
     
  8. Ihaveissues macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #8
    I'm in south america playing in american servers.
    Although i have issues...i've yet to have any latency issues.
     
  9. PlipPlop macrumors 6502a

    PlipPlop

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
  10. sirxavier macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #10
    I played from Peru without issues for a week. I have a peruvian friend who is diamond 1v1 as well. Can't get to diamond if you lag a lot. Now I play from China and I thought i'd be horribly laggy, but it isn't. I am in platinum as well, so I don't think lag in northern mexico is going to affect your performance/enjoyment/whatever you are worrying about with the US SC2 servers.
     

Share This Page