Starcraft 2 Issues (Retina)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Cassadian, Sep 4, 2012.

  1. Cassadian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #1
    Hi,

    I run into several problems when playing this game on my Macbook Pro Retina.

    When I alt-tab out the resolution of everything becomes blurry until I quit the game. And when I re-enter the game the gamma get's screwed up. Although the gamma setting is at the previous setting I have to move it a bit back and forth to make it properly adjust. The game just becomes dark for no apparent reason. Furthermore, the gaming performance is absurd.

    I played 1920x1080 on my last laptop at lowest settings and got 60 FPS on a GT540m and i5-2410m all inferior specifications to the Retina yet at a little over 1920x1200 (the setting is screwed up) and at all low I barely manage 30 FPS on the same games. Is this an issue because Mountain Lion just came out?

    Thanks y'all!
     
  2. wiznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    I can run on "high" settings and get ~30FPS at 2880x1800. Your old computer didn't have to drive as many pixels as this one does. No, it's not because ML just came out. Blurryness happens to me, but I never really leave the game until I'm finished, so it's not a problem. Neither is the gamma, but I haven't seen that happen.
     
  3. Cassadian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #3
    The gamma issue is quite annoying. I'm not sure if I can say it's due to the resolution. I keep it at right above 1920 x 1200 (not at 2880 x 1800, and 1920 x 1200 seems to be very bugged) and even at a lower resolution like half the maximum I am eeking 30-40 FPS. It is kind of annoying.
     
  4. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Definitely not supposed to perform like that. Other people, such as above poster, report it's just about playable maxed and 2880x1800.

    Perhaps yours isn't switching to the 650M ?
     
  5. wiznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Run 2880x1800 on Starcraft.

    High texture, and medium settings can get me well over 30-40.

    I usually run on high texture, and high settings, and I get in the 25-35 range, at 2880x1800.
     
  6. DaveNinja macrumors 6502

    DaveNinja

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    #6
    Some Beta invites for the Zerg Starcraft 2 expansion went out recently. I wonder if it has better retina support. I have the beta invite but wont have my rMBP until next week
     
  7. Cassadian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #7
    Exactly. I'm surprised you get that. At 1680 x xxxx, I get 40-50 FPS sometimes dropping down to 20-30 FPS on all low settings. Kind of ridiculous. Are you on the latest OS?
     
  8. wiznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Odd. At 1440x900, with low, I can get like 350 or something.

    Build 12B19, yes, latest.
     
  9. Cassadian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #9
    Are you serious? What are your temperatures, if you don't mind me asking. I don't ever reach above 70 on my GPU (Celsius) and hover around 55-60 for my CPU.

    This has been quit disappointing. Considering a standard 540M is beating an overclocked 650M in graphics performance. Quite surprising.
     
  10. pgiguere1 macrumors 68020

    pgiguere1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #10
    I'm getting around 40-55FPS on Extreme setting at 1920x1200 on an external monitor.

    If I play at 2880x1800 on the internal screen at Extreme setting I get 15-30 FPS.
     
  11. Cassadian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #11
    I see.

    Does anyone have any recommendations on a fix, I'm tired of feeling bad. Getting 15-30 FPS on all low settings on 2880 x 1800 compared to your extreme settings is kind of sad.
     
  12. Cassadian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #12
    I'm assuming no one has any reasons for why my GPU performance is worse than others... Should I return it? The store is 30-40 minutes away so I have to be sure before I take the chance.
     
  13. Cassadian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #13
    If anyone wants any updates. I returned it. The new machine worked fine for about one or two hours than the FPS has just capped at 30 for now reason at all.
     
  14. ninja2000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #14
    were you running on battery? I know in bootcamp when on battery fps are locked to 30. Its the same with the 650m in my alienware m14x r2
     
  15. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #15
    it could be due to heat. Are the fans getting up to max speed? Get a $20 cooling pad and see if that fixes it.
     
  16. Cassadian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #16
    I've been playing on Bootcamp and performance is up at least 200-300%. My FPS at every resolution has been increase 3-4x. I can now run all games at maximum resolution 2880 x 1800 on High/Medium and play fluidly.
     
  17. Rocky244 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #18
    If you're still curious about the screen being blurry when you alt-tab out, it's because the game changes the screen resolution to whatever you have it set on for the game. The computer is now running at that resolution, so when you alt-tab out the screen still displays that resolution. It's normal.

    I get great results on extreme settings even at the highest of resolutions, but the cut scenes tend to cause some slowdown. So I tend to run at the setting right above 1920 x 1200 (because that setting is bugged), which runs flawlessly. And just to make sure I wasn't just seeing things I used an fps meter to compare the differences and no matter which settings I used I was getting FPS above 30.
     
  18. Cassadian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #19
    Thanks a lot. Do you have a solution to the gamma issue?

    Also, the game works flawlessly on Bootcamp but considering all my files are on Mac OS I'm tired of having to restart just to access other files besides my games.

    I wil try resetting the SMC and the PRAM/NVRAM.
     
  19. Cassadian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #20
    Update: Resetting the SMC has done nothing.

    I can only presume that the errors are due to the software either by Blizzard or Apple and have quit trying to play on the Mac OS.

    Furthermore, it is not due to heating issues as I rarely reach above 70 degrees Celsius according to temp readings.
     

Share This Page