Starcraft 2 - Lagging

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Help Please, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. Help Please, Mar 30, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011

    Help Please macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa
    #1
    1.86GHz, 4GB RAM, 13" MBA - I just installed SC2 today and went to play it and of course, I had been reading the forums prior to buying my Air, and many were saying Medium settings run just fine, some were even running on High. On Medium I'm lagging around the menu and in game and sometimes even Low lags.

    Anybody know what could be the problem? I just got this last Friday :confused:


    EDIT: It should be important to note, I did the combo update from 10.6.5 to 10.6.7, and from the looks of it, there has been a huge hit to FPS in many cases. Could this be it?
     
  2. BlackMax macrumors 6502a

    BlackMax

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #2
    From everything I've read about the 10.6.7 patch, it is probably your issue. SC 2 runs very well on my 11" MBA, but I am still on 10.6.6.

    If I we're you I would revert to 10.6.6 and give it a try. If you didn't take a full backup or disk image before you upgraded, you should be able to simply reinstall OS X from your install USB stick. Don't delete and install; install over your current installation. All your current applications will remain intact that way.
     
  3. Help Please thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa
    #3
    Right, I didn't do a backup because I had just got the laptop and migrated over my data. I am new to Mac, so most of this stuff is new to me. When I reinstall OS X, I put in my flash drive on reboot and hold down 'C', from there, what do I do?
     
  4. GreyMatta macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #4
    10.6.7 killed my SC2

    I was getting 34fps on 10.6.6 now I get 7fps :(

    Waiting for Apple to fix it
     
  5. jamesryanbell macrumors 68020

    jamesryanbell

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #5
    I wonder what technically changed??

    Anyone complained to Apple about this?
     
  6. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #6
    I'm not a programmer, but I noticed that the 10.6.7 release notes stated that it addressed an issue that could cause kernel panics in the MacBook Air. Perhaps they concluded that something in the NVIDIA 320m was causing the panics and they changed the drivers, which reduced performance. Unfortunately, Apple is the only source of drivers for the chip, so reverting to 10.6.6 seems to be the only option until and unless Apple addresses this.
     
  7. jamesryanbell macrumors 68020

    jamesryanbell

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #7
    Man that really sucks. I just updated yesterday because I found out that the iTunes lockups weren't on the 11", but only the 13". I thought that was the only issue. :/
     
  8. Susurs macrumors 6502

    Susurs

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #8
    Well it could not degrade performance 4x...
    I understand 5-10% judging by XBench results but not that much...
    And there are some people who are reporting that SC FPS stayed the same
    so I presume it is a bug...
     
  9. BlackMax macrumors 6502a

    BlackMax

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #9
    This should help:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4399

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2597
     
  10. nobleearth macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Location:
    Abu Dhabi
    #11
    Greymatta, i tried the fix and it works. Thanks!
     
  11. tungry, Jun 23, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2011

    tungry macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #12
    Now that 10.6.8 is out, anyone out there have done the combined update 10.6.7 and is having the graphic issue have it resolved with this new 10.6.8? I'm downloading it right now but if anyone has it downloaded/installed and has it fixed please chime in!

    EDIT: Just had the 10.6.8 installed. It fixed the lag issue for me on SC2.
     

Share This Page