Starcraft 2 Lion

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by senc01a, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. senc01a macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #1
    Anyone want to share their experiences?
    Any problems? Differences in performance?
    Please post your specs along.
    Thanks!
     
  2. ewbadger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #2
    I have noticed no performance improvement nor decrease while playing StarCraft II. However, my mouse is extremely "wonky" now during precise movements. Anybody else having this issue?

    Specs:

    2010 MacBook Pro
    2.66 GHz Intel Core i7
    4 GB 1067 Mhz DDR3
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M 512 MB

    Also: Zerg FTW.
     
  3. Jlpeaks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #3
    I've heard some people that had to tweak their game using the Variables.txt are having issues now because that particular application support folder seems to have gone AWOL. If anyone has seen this folder can you please report it to your nearest forum. Thank you. Have a nice day.
     
  4. UltimatePenguin macrumors newbie

    UltimatePenguin

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #4
    Noticeable slowdown

    I had noticeable slow down on my 2010 2.93 i7 iMac. Before I could run with ultra high textures and the rest of the settings on high to ultra with a decent framerate. After I updated to Lion the game was unplayable, had to set everything to medium.
     
  5. senc01a thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #5
    Are you guys talking about fresh installs or system upgrades?
    Have you guys given it enough time to let Spotlight finish indexing after the install?
    Thanks for your feedback :)
     
  6. andrew8404 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Loma Linda, Ca
    #6
    I played a little last night and it seemed slow to me. The game took forever to load the map and once I did start it was a little choppy. I restarted the computer and will try again today.
     
  7. Jlpeaks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #7
    I should probably mention that I've been playing a bit today and it seems to be running fine. No difference whilst playing the game but it does seem like the menu's are loading quicker.. but maybe thats just me looking for difference.
     
  8. The.Walrus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #8
    I did a Lion upgrade (not fresh install), and have no change in SC2 performance.

    I'm on a 2011 MBP 15" 2.2ghz. It still plays great, but the inverted scrolling has given me a few hiccups!
     
  9. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    Takes ages to load a map for me and gets a bit choppy, especially with the talking on the ship, words would hang occasionally making a repeated sound, kind of like "H-h-h-h-h-hello" etc. Ah well, new OS, little glitches are to be expected.
     
  10. Jyby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    #10
    Works great for me.

    No performance gains. I play the game on lowest setting to eliminate lag.

    I upgraded to Lion, I also let spotlight finish indexing!

    Macbook Pro 2011
    2.66 C2D
    Nvidia 320M
    4Gb Ram
     
  11. senc01a thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #11
    After a couple of days of playing and so on I have to say that I do not think it runs any better or any worse, pretty much the same.

    Lion fresh install
    iMac 27, i7, ati 4850 512MB.
     
  12. itismejeremy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #12
    Mouse Acceleration?

    Hey I play Starcraft 2 as well -- are you guys using a program to stop the default mouse acceleration? I was using USB OverDrive, but now that doesn't work so well for me after I updated to Lion. What program would you recommend? I can't see to find any that work.
     
  13. Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #13
    Maybe the command line Terminal commands still work? Google them up.
     
  14. Lunitik007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #14
    I upgraded to Lion and since then SCII is much slower, too many lag when do macro.
    On official SCII forum problem with FPS drop is for every Lion fresh or upgrade, seems like drivers are not so good as in Snow Leopard.:confused:
    I hope that Apple and Blizzard will solve the problem.
    It would be shame to go boot camp for one game.
    Perviously I was on high detail now needed to go all low for on line play.:mad:

    MB Pro
    i5 2,53
    Nvidia GT 330M 256MB
    8GB RAM
    Intel X25 120GB SSD (Trim hack)
     
  15. jbyun04 macrumors 6502a

    jbyun04

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    Actually I found significant increase in performance..

    Before upgrading to Lion my SC2 performance was AWFUL in OSX..

    I had to play on 1440x900 Low everything, any extra details off and portraits in 2d and only then was it playable.

    Now I can play it on 1440x900 Medium with 3D Portraits and it's smooth as butter.

    Specs:
    2.8GHz C2D
    8GB DDR3
    9600GT 512MB
    Corsair Force 120GB SSD + Toshiba 750GB HDD (installed on Toshiba)

    I was literally shocked at how smooth it was.. must be just me?
     
  16. Toppynuffy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #16
    Starcraft freezes in Lion

    I've been playing a few games and 50% of them freezes and I have to hard reset / restart my computer. Anyone else has this problem? I have a 2010 MacBook Pro 17".
     
  17. Killery96 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #17
    Hi, I'm on a Macbook Pro 15", brand new out of the box, files manually transferred. Right now, at 1680x1050 I get a 30 FPS average, with 35-40 at the mineral line and mid to low 20's during 1v1 large battles. On high, this goes to 40-50 at the mineral line, to 30-35 during big 1v1 battles. Medium I get 70-90 FPS at the mineral line, and 50-60 during big 1v1 battles. Low is not even worth talking about, triple digits are annoying. This is all at 1680x1050. I'm experiencing maybe a 3-4 FPS increase? This things gets LOUD though... ...No way around it though.
     
  18. bluskale macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #18
    did you try SteerMouse? it claims to work in Lion.
     

Share This Page