Starcraft 2 - Most Recent Lowest Spec Macbook Pro 13 inch - Thanks!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by harrybowley, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. harrybowley macrumors newbie

    harrybowley

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #1
    Model Name: MacBook Pro 13 inch
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro7,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 320M

    I Hate these threads too, sorry to be a pest, I haven't quite got a straight answer yet !

    Thanks so much!
     
  2. Hydra macrumors regular

    Hydra

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    There's some problem with nVidia shaders in Stacraft 2 atm.

    To fix this set the shaders to low and happy gaming, even at medium they make the game unplayable.
     
  3. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
  4. harrybowley thread starter macrumors newbie

    harrybowley

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #4
  5. MindBrain macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #5
    Yea it'll run good, it runs not to shabby on the old 9400m macbook as well.
     
  6. ChaosMerdy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #6
    I have the old 9400M 2008 Macbook 13inch unibody, with only 2GB of DDR3 ram and I can safely say that if you don't mind running the game on Low settings with Medium textures the game runs beautifully in Boot Camp Windows 7...so in the case of the OP if I can pull it off all on low with med textures in Windows, I'd say you should be able to get at least medium considering the 320M is a newer, more powerful chip and you have more RAM than I do. All speculation though but best of luck! SC2 is phenomenal and should be played regardless of what has to be done to get it to run smoothly! The art style is such that even on low graphics it still looks beautiful! :)
     
  7. losthell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #7
    ChaosMerdy, im wondering, can you play smoothly when shader on medium?
     
  8. ChaosMerdy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #8
    I haven't honestly tried...you all seem to think it won't run with medium shaders though...is that due to the 10.6.4 update's Nvidia bugs? By default the game was set to medium in general for me and it ran at an unplayable 20fps whereas I now get 30-50 I would say but I'm not sure if my shaders were on med. I'll have to check it out and get back to you.
     
  9. Macopotamus macrumors regular

    Macopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #9
    lowest spec mbp 13" recommends medium but runs terribly, for best performance set everything on low except for textures which you can put on medium

    the game in windows on the same machine runs flawlessly on high, it's clearly a drivers problem that needs to be fixed by either blizzard or apple or both
     
  10. senc01a macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #10
    On bootcamp with windows XP it runs pretty fast (40 - 60 fps) at max resolution (13 inch) and mid detail settings.
     

Share This Page