Starcraft 2- New video! + Poll

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by runplaysleeprun, Jul 21, 2010.

?

Are you going to buy Starcraft 2?

  1. Yes!

    54 vote(s)
    69.2%
  2. Maybe when the price drops.

    16 vote(s)
    20.5%
  3. No.

    6 vote(s)
    7.7%
  4. Starcraft? Will it run on a 3gs?

    2 vote(s)
    2.6%
  1. runplaysleeprun macrumors 6502a

    runplaysleeprun

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
  2. sportster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    #2
    I've had it on pre-order for some time now, ready to go on release date.
     
  3. Antares macrumors 68000

    Antares

    #3
    As long as I can get it to run smooth on my Core Duo iMac from 2006.
     
  4. runplaysleeprun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    runplaysleeprun

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    I'm anxious to try out a bit of modern gaming on my hackintosh in my sig, I've really only played a handful of older games, warcraft 3 and some civ.
     
  5. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    Had it on pre-order for ages. Now I'm in a crisis because I have the chance to buy a Collector's Edition. Should I shouldn't I? Please help! :eek:
     
  6. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #6
    I was planning on getting it. But then I got invited to the beta, and realized it wasn't much more than StarCraft with better graphics. I'll pick it up when the price drops substantially.
     
  7. Diddiyo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    central jersey
    #7
    i am seriously considering buying a new macbook but will wait for benchmarks to see which one i should get. i doubt it'll run on my four year old, 1st gen macbook lol.
     
  8. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #8
    Re price point taken.

    But "Starcraft wth better graphics" - that's what's good about it! :p The disaster would have been if they'd screwed around with the formula. No lurkers is change enough!

    Also, the SP campaign looks oarsome...
     
  9. DeepIn2U macrumors 68040

    DeepIn2U

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #9
    Same here. doubtful it'll run on my Mini 2Ghz or MB Al_Unibody both using 256MB shared 9400. Well beta does but somewhat choppy at times with lowest settings.
     
  10. CANEHDN macrumors 6502a

    CANEHDN

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Eagle Mountain, UT
    #10
    Doubt it. I have the same computer and I've seen newer iMacs run okay on the lowest settings. A Core Duo probably won't handle it well. Especially the X1600 (I'm assuming that's the video card you have). If I'm wrong, I'd love to know.

    I've been in the beta for a while and I love it. I'll be there to buy it, right when the store opens. Can't wait to play the single player campaigns.


    I would get it. Why not? You buy the game once. You might as well get the one you want and not regret it. I didn't pre order but if I can, I'm definitely going to get the collector edition.
     
  11. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #11
    Well, actually, I'd be buying it twice :eek:. I'm based in Japan but I'd be buying to play in SEA (where most of my friends are based), but the Collector's Edition on sale in Japan is the NA region version.

    Buying twice isn't actually as wasteful as it sounds as my bf wants in too, so we'd need two keys anyway. But until Blizzard deign to give us x-region play, it'll be a bit frustrating. Wonder how long that will take?
     
  12. millar876 macrumors 6502a

    millar876

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland UK
    #12
    Starcradt 2 is all well and good, i intend to buy it, however, what i REALY want is Starcraft 1 ported to iPad with full battlenet and everything
     
  13. nelsencaleb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa
    #13
    Starcraft 2 Rocks@!@

    This trailer just blew my mind. I was just..wow. It was so good. For every 10 people that see this 9 of the ten who didn't want to buy it want to buy it now. STARCRAFT 2 ROCKS@!@
     
  14. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #14
    Ive been disappointed with the beta's graphics.

    Not bright or contrasted enough. Things just look...blah.

    I wasnt blown away by any visual effects either. Like Protoss laser beams seemed like they should look cooler than they do...

    Everything is to the highest level detail, so its not my settings. Im just hoping they went with "crappy grafix" for the beta.
     
  15. CJM macrumors 65816

    CJM

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Location:
    U.K.
    #15
    I like you.



    Also,
    of course I'm buying it. Been waiting three long years for this damn game, so the CE will be mine ^^
    I'm a bit of a SC fan overall; it was my first ever game, on Macintosh back in the day :)
     
  16. CJM macrumors 65816

    CJM

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Location:
    U.K.
    #16
    I have a strong feeling that you can choose your region of play when you install and register the game. After that it cannot be changed.

    (I could be wrong, however... It might just be the language choice.)
     
  17. BrianKonarsMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #17
    Collector's edition pre-ordered on Amazon for launch day delivery! Can't wait!
     
  18. nelsencaleb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa
    #18
    My the power of christ compel you. So god help the Koreans.
     
  19. Xavier macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
    #19
    This has been the game I have looked forward to for what seems like forever
     
  20. Rithem macrumors 6502

    Rithem

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #20
    I've waited 10 years for this. Preordered Collector's Edition as soon as it was announced. I just can't play it till next weekend since I'm getting it shipped to my house in San Diego but I live in LA :/
     
  21. OGDaniel macrumors 6502a

    OGDaniel

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
    #21
    That would be extremely interesting, but come on...

    The iPad isn't powerful enough for something like that anyway. At least I don't think so.
     
  22. OGDaniel macrumors 6502a

    OGDaniel

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
    #22
    I am intensely excited for Starcraft 2! I wasted unbelieveable amounts of time on Starcraft 1 and Brood War back in the day.
     
  23. Durious macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    #23
    I said I'd buy it... But to be honest I bought it in April and have been playing the beta since... Woot amazing game. Sooo many great enhancements over the original without making the game a great deal different... Also my main reason for being the imac two weeks ago is for this game... Expensive game eh?? Lol
     
  24. CartoonHeroII macrumors member

    CartoonHeroII

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Location:
    Rigby, ID
    #24
    I first played StarCraft 1 on my old PowerMac 7100. Had a 66 Mhz processor if I remember right. And like 8 Mb of RAM. I think the iPad could handle it just fine. If Blizz could get the multi-touch controls right, StarCraft 1 would rock on the iPad!
     
  25. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #25
    I agree, the iPad would have no problems running SC/BW. The issue would be control. RTS with a touch interface? Eek. Could be fun in a "casual gaming" version I guess. But then, let's be honest, it's not SC any more is it.

    You would not believe how hard it was to get a clear answer on this from Blizzard. To be honest I think half (or more) of their forum ppls didn't really know what they were going to do with the region-lock stuff until like a week ago or something.

    But just in case anyone reading this is wondering - no, you cannot select your region on install. The keys are region specific, so if you buy a North American box, you can only play with that key on the North American server. (This is true, incidentally, regardless of the address or region of your battlenet account - eg. if you live in Europe, you can (and plenty of people are) buy the Euro version and the NA version and then play on both servers.)

    Blizzard say that pings are the reason SC2 isn't cross-region out of the box. They also say they intend to introduce x-region play, in some form, some time after release. (They haven't given us any idea how soon.)

    It's irritating (and expensive) for people who are traveling, or have friends overseas, or who are living in a region where the skill level is likely to be lower - it's going to be very difficult, well impossible really, to build to a competitive level if you are on the SEA server for example.
     

Share This Page