StarCraft 2 not compatible with NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by bruceleeroy, Oct 19, 2010.

  1. bruceleeroy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I just found out that StarCraft 2 isn't compatible with my NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT in my Mac Pro. I have a older G5 that has a GeForce FX5200 and apparently(Who the hell knows why) that is supported. Do you guys think its a good idea to swap my cards out?
     
  2. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    The 7300GT's OS X drivers are too poor.

    The FX5200 is too slow; SC2 required an 8600M or greater in OS X. If you want to play SC2, your only option is to use the 7300GT in Windows. But if I were you, I'd just buy a new graphics card.
     
  3. bruceleeroy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
  4. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    You can buy a 4870 from Apple, or flash a PC card. There's stacks of threads in the Mac Pro forum here on GPUs for 1.1 Mac Pros :)
     
  5. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #5
    A 5870 will also work, even though Apple says it's just for Mid-2010 models.
     
  6. bruceleeroy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #6
    Excellent where can I find that thread?
     
  7. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #7
    The fx5200 card has none of the following things:

    a) electrical compatibility with the MacPro PCIe slots
    b) better performance level than the 7300GT
    c) Intel Mac drivers.
    d) compatibility with StarCraft II in any way..

    so based on those items, yeah, you are probably better off picking up a 4870, 5770, 5870 card for your Mac Pro.
     
  8. bruceleeroy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #8
    When you say the 4870 do you mean this card?
    XFX Radeon HD 4870
     
  9. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #9
    Most any 4870 would work, though as of late they've been more hinky than ones flashed a year ago or so, due to different firmware and other changes.
     
  10. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #10
    Dont get 4870, get the 5870
     
  11. chaosbunny macrumors 68000

    chaosbunny

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    down to earth, far away from any clouds
    #11
    Seconded. With the 5870 you should be able to enjoy SC2 at high settings or better. Your processor is certainly up to the task.

    This is the thread you are looking for:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1002692
     

Share This Page