Starcraft 2 on Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Volker, Nov 17, 2013.

  1. Volker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #1
    Hello,

    I can't wait to get off windows and on to a mac, right now I'm looking for a Mac Pro that would be good for gaming, I I think I'm going to get the 8core 2008 year model, but wanted to know if anyone here plays Starcraft. Also would the 2008 model be able to use maverick? And I play on a 1366x768 monitor does mac support that resolution?

    Thanks volker

    I only play sc anymore.
     
  2. Celedral macrumors 6502

    Celedral

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    I played SC here and there on various systems from PC to macbook pros. Get an 09' and upgrade the CPU to a 3.2ghz or higher. SCII will play great on anything from a 570-670 GTX or similar ATI cards.

    Yes it will support almost every monitor resolution.
     
  3. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #3
    if it helps - I have no issues here (3.33Ghz with a 1GB 5770) - I play fine at 1080p
     
  4. berndkiltz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Location:
    Pfalz, Germany
    #4
    Sorry to tell you, but SCII WOL used to run fine on my 2008 8core with Ati 5770 at ULTRA settings. But since HOTS it is a Nightmare... even with low settings, as soon as there is a 2v2 oder 3v3 on a big Map, Framerates drop to unplayable. Only with everything set to low its even playable.
    Get a more recent mac with faster CPU and fast Graphics - if you really want to enjoy SC!
     
  5. ScottishCaptain macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #5
    This.

    SC2 was fantastic at launch. Solid 60+ FPS on my ATI 5870, 2560x1400 at ultra/extreme settings.

    Ever since the release of version 2.0 (which coincided with the release of HoTS), performance has been absolute crap. I'm lucky to get 30 FPS, and there's a 50/50% chance the game bogs down to less then 1 FPS making it unplayable.

    I'm not sure if this is a bug in the ATI drivers or what, but performance with the ATI cards is absolutely abysmal. From what I've heard it runs fine with the eVGA 680 GTX (which has more recent drivers available), but I've never been able to confirm that in person.

    -SC
     
  6. Yebubbleman macrumors 68030

    Yebubbleman

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    Yes, that Mac Pro and all Mac Pros since that Mac Pro will run Mavericks and that monitor resolution. That said, don't bother with an 08; at least do an 09.
     
  7. koban4max macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #7
    from 2009 and up is good...get radeon 5770..it's dope.
     
  8. Volker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #8
    Cool, does anyone have a site they would Recommend for getting a mac graphics card, and how much would a 09 Mac Pro cost I have not seen on for sale on mac of all trades.

    Thanks volker

    ----------

    Nvidia, graphics card. Since I have not seen any good posts about the ati graphics cards on sc.

    What do u think would be the right graphics card to max sc at my screen resolution of 1366x768?
     
  9. skafia macrumors 6502

    skafia

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Location:
    SOCAL
    #9
    Same here. Mac 5,1 3.33 with the 5770, everything maxed.
     
  10. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #10
  11. tony3dd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    #11
    Just install Windows, and be done with it. Games play better anyway.
     
  12. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #12
    The OP only wants to run Starcraft 2 and already said he is abandoning Windows to move to Mac OS X.
    To many Mac users saying just install Windows is like a waiter asking if you would like a turd with your salad....

    Barefeats recorded 57 fps in SC2 at 2560x1440 Ultra settings with a GTX570 so a GTX560ti won't be far behind. http://www.barefeats.com/gam12.html
     
  13. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #13
    I have a 2008 8 core with a flashed EVGA GTX 680. Running at 1900x1200 it runs every game I've thrown at it (Minecraft, Assassins Creed 2, Half Life 2, other steam games) like a beast.

    At 1366x768 my son runs his mildly overclocked Core i5 8Gb RAM rig at max settings using just a 1Gb GTX 650 Ti and a 680 has 2.5 times the power of the 650. Despite my Mac Pro being older it still quite a bit faster, he uses mine for his live streaming sessions and transcoding with Premiere :D

    I paid £200 for the GTX 680 used with warranty remaining and the flashing with the EFI Mac bios took 2 minutes. A few reboots later and it's been rock solid ever since. You will need to buy an extra PCIe cable to connect the extra power to the logic board or an extra pair if you wish to sell the existing card. Searching my posts will find a link on ebay to buy them I posted recently.
     

Share This Page