Starcraft 2 on the 330m: 256 or 512MB?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PurpleShaman, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. PurpleShaman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #1
    before I make my final verdict on which 15'' model to get, I just wanted to see how these two versions of the 330m run SC2. My inclination tells me that there probably isnt that much of a difference, but I've also heard that SC2 needs a lot of texture support which would benefit from the 512MB version.

    plz post some pics and settings if you guys happened to have tried it already
     
  2. DesmoPilot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #2
    Been playing since the beta and I can say 512MB all the way, but be prepared to BootCamp to get good performance (performance under OS X is a joke).
     
  3. PurpleShaman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #3
    i see that you also hit the hi res upgrade. how does it run on hi res vs 1400X900 for u? that much of a difference?

    duno if youve read that barefeats article but the guy said that there wouldn't be much difference between the 256 and 512 unless your hookin it up to an external (much higher res.) just not sure what to decide on at the moment. more help appreciated
     
  4. PurpleShaman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #4
    also, feedback from other games are also appreciate, doesnt have to be strictly SC2...
     
  5. Meever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #5
    It won't make a difference. the higher vram only helps loading large quanity of textures in very high resolution.

    at anything below 1920x1080 it won't make a difference big enough to really discus about. Same deal for i7 vs i5 btw. Very minor improvement for a huge price difference.
     
  6. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #6
    depends on the game imo, but for sc2, the requirements aren't all that intense. 256 should be enough for decent settings under bootcamp.
     
  7. kgeier82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #7
    Played 6 games last night.

    i7, 512 VC ram. Played flawless @high on 1680x1050.

    Going to try external monitor today.
     
  8. PurpleShaman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #8
    that sounds great, do u mind posting a couple of screenshots and FPS marks if u get a chance?

    also, and i5 feeback from SC2 would be greatly appreciated. thanks!
     
  9. Some Guy 555 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #9
    If you are planning on playing SC2 on the macbook pro, GET THE 512mb of Vram. Without it, prepare to have your system memory taxed... heavily.
     
  10. Rithem macrumors 6502

    Rithem

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #10
    I hope that's on bootcamp. I can't get the thing to do decent settings on anything but a mix of medium/high
     
  11. PurpleShaman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #11
    @Rithem, are u runnin it on windows? from what ive heard so far the i7 on windows can run mostly on high. now we just need to see how the 256 i5 goes!
     
  12. religionisalie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #12
    This is either wishful thinking or a straight-out lie. My MBP i7 hi-res 128GB SSD 512mb Vram has an average of 20-30fps on high settings 1680x1050 resolutions. Playable but by far NOT flawless. Running in bootcamp.

    On medium settings 1680x1050 I get much better FPS. Changing the resolution to 1400x900 almost doubles the frames per second.

    *Screenshot on request.
     
  13. Shadow Zujed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #13

    Can I see a screenshot?
     
  14. DesmoPilot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #14
    You're probably running the original BootCamp nVidia drivers which are ancient to begin with. With a mix of High/Med @ 1680x1050 I get butter smooth gameplay.
     
  15. PurpleShaman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #15
    do u mind posting some screens? a hi-res vs. standard res comparison would be nice
     
  16. Rithem macrumors 6502

    Rithem

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #16
    Mac atm. Too lazy to download on bootcamp and I'm not going back home to San Diego to pick up my physical game till next weekend.
     
  17. Wafflausages macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #17
    I have the i5 and the game runs flawlessly on medium textures, i haven't tried high yet (low shaders, but medium shadows) i get above 50~60 fps and 30-40 fps during extreme battles)
     
  18. kgeier82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #18
    I love how people post this kind of crap. Why I would lie about something as dumb as this is beyond me. Fact is, I play it in windows, on high, on 1680x1050, and havent had one tiny issue. Custom drivers.

    Maybe a post of what your not seeing "flawless" in, the type of game or situation in SC2 could be more helpful...?

    edit: Im using default settings in game too, and it set everything to high.
     
  19. Tassadur macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #19
    Could you please post which drivers your using?
    I'm on he exact same MacBook, using Windows 7 64 Bit and lates nVidia drivers (258.96) and getting the same suboptimal results as religionisalie, which is nearly the same performance I get using Mac OS.

    Since I got better performance on my old 9600 GT on the beta I bet something in my installation ist flawed, most liky the driver.
     
  20. Syonidism macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    Turkey
    #20
    would you kindly share your custom drivers please :)

    -Atlas
     
  21. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #21
    Yeah unless you want high textures, then get 512mb. But then again you'll be getting i7 also. But if just for SC2, the 256mb does medium textures well enough. And this is coming from a guy that had a gaming laptop with 1gb vram.
     
  22. Rithem macrumors 6502

    Rithem

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #22
    Anyone overclocking on Windows? Curious since I usually do when I play graphic intensive games
     
  23. demonsavatar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #23
    Not sure they took into account the Hi-res display, but the Mac performance guide over at the official Starcraft II forums doesn't distinguish any performance benefits between the 256 or 512 VRAM. There are also a number of performance issues with nVidia cards on Macs at the moment, which are discussed there as well.

    Link: http://us.battle.net/sc2/en/forum/topic/224842575

    Here are their recommended settings and they say to expect ~50fps:

     
  24. kgeier82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #24
    Let me find out how and Ill be happy to at least tell u which Im using :)
     
  25. acribb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    #25
    How did you install your 'custom' drivers?

    I'm assuming you had to install them somehow, in which case you would know what version/type of video drivers are on your Macbook Pro.
     

Share This Page