Starcraft 2 same key on 2nd computer, use 1 at a time?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by MindBrain, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. MindBrain macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #1
    Anyone know if it's possible to use the same cd-key on a second computer, as long as only 1 copy is running at a time? If 1 copy is running and the 2nd starts up, does it invalidate the key for "piracy" or something? Or does it just let you know that another copy is running and close out, with no problem or hard feelings?
     
  2. Block macrumors 6502a

    Block

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #2
    Yup. There is no more CD key check, you are free to install your disk on as many computers as you want. The check is now entirely online.
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    You won't be "punished" for trying to run two copies, it just won't let you do it.
     
  4. nelsencaleb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa
    #4
    You can install Starcraft 2 on multiple computers, but you can only use one CDKEY at a time. You only bought 1 copy so you can only use 1 copy at 1 time is the way I think of it when I buy something like this.
     
  5. Block macrumors 6502a

    Block

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #5
    To be more clear, basically you now apply your CD-Key to a permanent battle.net account. To play the game at any time, you must log online (and thus verifying your account). If you give your account information to another person to play with, whenever they log on, you will be disconnected from the servers (and thus unable to play SC2).
     
  6. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #6
    Don't register it twice. Register once, log in twice. I have it installed under both OS X and Windows.
     
  7. heyisa macrumors member

    heyisa

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Kansas
    #7
    Yes, but be aware

    My roommate and I are sharing one battlenet login at the moment while I wait for my copy from amazon. He was logged in at work with the login, and I did not know it. So I logged in with the same account and it dropped him out of the game he was in the middle of and let me play. He was not pleased.
    So no you will not invalidate the account, but you will kick out anyone else playing if you try to login, even if they are in the middle of a game.
     
  8. mrfoof82 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    That's how WoW works.

    If an account is considered online, and you try to log in again (even from the same computer running a 2nd client instance) it logs any active sessions out.
     
  9. pauli123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #9
    I installed SC2 on my Macbook Pro (2008) and a Windows 7 PC hoping to be able to play the single-player campaign on one, and pick up where I left off on the other - apparently you can't. At least when I go to load a saved game, it only shows saved games made on a particular platform. My Mac won't even see the PC saved games and vice versa. I hope this will be patched soon!
     
  10. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #10
    I don't know what's going on with you, but I had no issue switching OSes and continuing my saves.
     
  11. Meever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #11
    Do you just dig through directories to find your save and play it on whichever platform you want?
     
  12. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #12
    If you're talking to me, no, all I do is hit 'continue campaign' after the splash screen.
     
  13. theanimaster macrumors 6502

    theanimaster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #13
    Your saved games are saved on the machine you're using -- whether mac or PC. I think this will explain why you don't see your saved games from the other machines, but your progress is saved online so you can pick up at the start of the campaign (but not from your saved game on another machine).
     
  14. Gregintosh macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #14
    He must have a nice job to be able to play entire games of StarCraft 2 on the job! :D I'd hate to be his boss.
     

Share This Page