Starcraft 2 Ultra settings

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by November.Terra, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. November.Terra macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #1
    I'm planning on purchasing the new iMac 27' Quad Core

    So I was wondering if I can run SC2 on Ultra with a constant 60 fps.

    These are the specs just incase,
    2.93GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
    4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
    1TB Serial ATA Drive
    8x double-layer SuperDrive
    ATI Radeon HD 5750 1GB GDDR5 SDRAM
     
  2. vaderhater245 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #2
    here's my 2 cents on the topic...

    2009 i5 Quad iMac (stock) - 40-60FPS on Medium, Full Screen 2560x1440

    2008 Custom Win7 3.4Ghz c2d GTX260 - 40-60 on Ultra, Full Screen 1920x1200

    having a 1GB video card will definitely help with the iMac's resolution.
     
  3. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #3
    If you run all ultra, but take shaders down from ultra to high, then you will most likely be hovering at 50-60fps almost all the time (except for those really huge battles and large zerg bases where you might dip down to 30 once here and there)

    Don't worry, shaders on high instead of ultra yield near exact same aesthetics for games. (they will make a difference in lighting for in-between missions tho)
     
  4. pionata macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal
    #4
    It will run but not perfectly.
    Tweaking one or 2 thing down to high or medium will make it smooth.

    I have a iMac 27" also but only 512mb on the GPU and it's almost playable maxed out. I prefer the smoother experience however.

    I'm pretty much doing what I'm not supposed to do, running the game in 1920x1080 with textures on ultra but removing a bit of shadows and shading.
     
  5. dp84 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #5
    you will get ~25fps (or less)

    Test System Specs
    - Intel Core i7 920 (Overclocked @ 3.70GHz)
    - x3 2GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-12800 (CAS 9-9-9-24)
    [​IMG]

    my question is: why you just don't play at medium settings and have fun with the game??
     
  6. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #6
    Do note those tests are from 4v4 so they've taken into account the toughest conditions sc2 will put on your gpu. The average 1v1 or 2v2 games will have higher fps on average.

    So you could say, it is possible to play on high-ultra everywhere else except 4v4, where you might want to bring it down to medium.
     
  7. dp84 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #7
    there is no reason for playing at every cost in ultra settings.
    I play @Ultra on my Mac Pro and sometimes I play single player (or I watch some in-game replays) on my MacBookPro @medium settings and to be onest there is no real differences.. ;)
     

Share This Page