starcraft 2

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by ru03j89, Aug 20, 2009.

  1. ru03j89 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #1
    hello,
    I know starcraft 2 is not out yet...
    but do you guys think the old macbook pro 15" with nVidia Geforce 8600M GT will be able to run it?
    thank you
     
  2. phillipsteak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
  3. jakespice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
  4. thebrain74 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #4
    http://starcraft.incgamers.com/articles/comments/starcraft-2-graphics-requirements-confirmed/
    this link has some specs for the graphics card. Only I don't keep with with graphics cards. does the GeForce 9600M GT in the current MBP's and/or the card the OP has fit into this bracket?

    the quote from the site:
    For Starcraft II, we wanted to maximize compatibility with less capable systems to ensure hassle-free game play for as broad a player base as possible. Yet we also wanted to utilize the full potential of any available hardware to ensure the game's looks were competitive. This meant supporting a wide range of hardware, from ATI Radeon 9800/NVIDIA GeForce FX's to the ATI Radeon HD 4800s and NVIDIA GeForce G200s
     
  5. Some Guy 555 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #5
    The 9600 GT is the top recommended card there on the spec page.

    The 9600M GT should run it fine, and if I am reading this correctly a Geforce FX series can run the game?!?!?! if that is the case then the 9600 should dominate the game.

    Geforece FX series is around 10 years old if I remember.
     
  6. thebrain74 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #6
    That's what I've read too: the 9600GT is the recommended level of graphics card. i.e. it should run Starcraft 2 well, maybe not top graphics, but something pretty decent.

    It does also appear that the GeForce FX is the bottom end, but I wouldn't go so far as to say that the 9600GT will dominate. I think the GeForce FX will run SC2 in the barest sense of the word.


    Does any one know what the performance difference is between a 9600GT and a 9600M GT?


    When they ran SC2 at E3 or something they used a very high-end gaming laptop, with a graphics card way beyond the 9600M GT, granted this is not surprising at an event like this because they want to showcase the best this game can offer. However, it gives a general idea of what it might take to run the game at max, even if it is a little overkill.
     
  7. sporadicMotion macrumors 65816

    sporadicMotion

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Your girlfriends place
    #7
    Well that is completely wrong.

    Yes it will.
     
  8. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #8
    So wrong.

    I know SC will have some eye candy especially from the screen shots, but I don't think the glitz level will be that of Far Cry or Doom 3 Ultra quality because that would quickly change the metrics of the gameplay. Pro players will focus more on the actual gameplay itself and can't have a FPS drop during high action scenes where micro will determine the victor.
     
  9. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    no they dont...if they did ...they would be on blizzards site...there not.
     
  10. captaincarrot macrumors newbie

    captaincarrot

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    #10
    I see Jimmy R has started dying his hair. Well, I guess it's the future...why not?
     
  11. waiwai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    #11
    FAIL.

    beef boy don't know jack. yes your MBP will be able to run it.
     
  12. phillipsteak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #12
    ok seriously...an 8600 gt???? my 9400 can barely handle street fighter 4...

    and beef boy??? wtf does that even mean??? are you some wannabe /b/tard?
     
  13. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #13
    Psst.

    the 8600m gt can destroy the 9400m. Your 9400 is intergrated with shared(read slow) mem and low clock speeds. The 8600m gt and the 9600m gt aren't.....

    Why do you talk such nonsense?
     
  14. phillipsteak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #14
    Ok, the 9400 is about 2/3rds of the 8600; therefore, the fact that the 8600 can barely handle such a relatively non-intensive such as street fighter 4 shows that Starcraft 2 (which will MOST LIKELY be graphics intensive) will not be able to run on an 8600 (at least up to my standards)
     
  15. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #15
    Do you think my ATI Radeon HD 2400 could run it?
     
  16. chaosbunny macrumors 68000

    chaosbunny

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    down to earth, far away from any clouds
    #16
    First, the 9400 is only about 50% as strong as the 8600.

    This picture is from the keynote where they released the unibody macbooks:

    [​IMG]

    Second, I have played newer games like Fallout 3 and Mirrors Edge on high settings at 1680x1050 on an external screen with my 8600 mbp, I doubt it will have problems with starcraft 2 on maybe medium settings.

    As far as street fighter 4 is concerned, it also depends if it's a good or bad console port. If it's a bad executed port it will have higher requirements. Since starcraft 2 will not come out on any console it will be best optimized for pc hardware.
     
  17. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #17
    I do GeoQuad rendering on my Macbook Pro and the 8600M GT handles the workload fine. Currently I am running a 250m hi-rez world map (so over 5K tiles 512X512) with 1km DEM which I could not do on a 9400M (tried and failed).

    So really I can't understand why SC2 wouldn't run on a 8600M GT considering how well Blizzard generally supports older chipsets.
     
  18. waiwai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    #18
    what are your settings for sfiv? i get 40-60 fps (fluctuates) with everything set to high @ 1024x728, with the exception of shadows, and I run "ink" mode, on my unibody MB... gameplay is more than smooth with the exception of ultras, there is some fps loss during those... but yeh...
     
  19. Xavier macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
    #19
    I would hope that a dedicated GPU would be able to run it if the 9600m GT is able to run it.

    I really want this game
     
  20. CJM macrumors 65816

    CJM

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Location:
    U.K.
    #20
    Oh I'm so glad I decided to build myself something to play games on.
     
  21. sinser macrumors 6502a

    sinser

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    #21
    there's no way that a prev gen mbp won't be able to run SC2. Maybe not at maxed settings, but I'm sure it will run fine.
     
  22. niuniu macrumors 68020

    niuniu

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    A man of the people. The right sort of people.
    #22
    It will run it smoothly around medium to medium-low for certain
     
  23. MistaBungle macrumors 6502a

    MistaBungle

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    #23
    I agree with the one person who said that this game is more about the gameplay than the graphics so that is one thing Blizzard will keep in mind. They've always been good about specs. I'm not worried about running it on my 13MBP at all, I know it will.
     
  24. Joyus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #24
    I apologise if im about to say something stupid! But is this game going to be like WOW where you have to pay per month or is it like AOE etc where you can play single mode??

    So people think this game will be a good one?
     
  25. DdMac679 macrumors member

    DdMac679

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Location:
    United States
    #25
    There is no monthly fee associated with this game and will have both a SP and MP mode.
     

Share This Page