Starcraft II Beta Has Begun!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by BradenG, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. BradenG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #1
    Although they've so far only released the PC requirements. And I did not receive an email/invite. Wondering if any Mac users have gotten an invite...maybe the Mac version is coming later? :mad:
     
  2. darkplanets macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #2
    Yes indeed. Actually its been going on for some time now. It is however, only windows users right now-- Mac won't be on until the later tiers of testing, possibly the second one at the earliest.
     
  3. robj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    #3
    I applied for the beta long time ago, but I haven't received any mails at the momment.
     
  4. wildcardd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #4
    I won a key back in Blizcon 09. They said they would email it when the beta begins.

    Still waiting....but hopeful that it happens in this wave.

    Luckily I still have a PC that will run the beta until the Mac client gets released.
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    I think it's stupid that they didn't give them to everyone, but I guess that confirms that I didn't win one (since you were obviously notified that you won, whereas I heard nothing). I was wondering when we'd find out.
     
  6. wildcardd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #6
    No...I think they gave you a code if you attended. That code you enter in the battle.net account management page. Once that code is entered will entitle you to a key (sometime during the beta). It is really confusing.

    I won it in a twitter contest that they were doing at the time of Blizcon.
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  8. wildcardd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #8
    Maybe the codes were given only at Blizcon 08 then. We have been waiting for beta for a very very long time.
     
  9. haiggy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #9
    The beta is done in waves.

    If you haven't gotten a key yet, you still might. There is hope. Unless you submitted your OS X specs... it's PC only right now for the time being.

    Hoping I get mine...
     
  10. Pallish macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Sweden
    #10
    Well, I actually submitted my OS X specs on both my accounts (EU & US) and
    I got a key on my US account :)

    Gonna install Win XP later on.

    Invitation mail
     
  11. pooky macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    #11
    Still no email yet. Maybe if I hold my breath...

    ...

    ...

    ...

    still holding...

    ...
     
  12. Ralzy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #12
  13. BradenG thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #13
    Ugh, that doesn't sound right. I'm pretty sure the 9400m will be able to handle StarCraft 2 on decent settings, not ultra of course. Maybe a combo of Medium/High?

    also from the beta faq:
     
  14. MistaBungle macrumors 6502a

    MistaBungle

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    #14
    Just flipped my beta settings over from mac to windows. Crossing fingers, toes, eyes and crosses.
     
  15. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #15
    I really hope they release the Mac requirements soon. I feel like my MacBook Pro is right on the edge of what might meet the system requirements. My biggest fear is the Radeon X1600 with 128MB of VRAM.
     
  16. MistaBungle macrumors 6502a

    MistaBungle

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    #16
    I think people get confused with this beta. You don't necessarily need any specific hardware; it isn't like xbox 360 or ps3 where there is only 1 piece of hardware available. There are many different combinations of cpus/gpus/etc and that is what is being tested here, along with the new battle.net.

    So people on the low end have just as much chance of getting in.
     
  17. Ralzy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #17
    We're talking about requirements to play the game not requirements to get into beta.
     
  18. spencers macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #18
    Maybe I should boot into bootcamp and submit the specs to try and increase my odds
     
  19. chacabuco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    #19
    Come on people! Is it playable on a late 2009 macbook? if yes, at medium, high, or ultra settings?:(
     
  20. tYsopz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Location:
    Norway
    #20
    I made three separate accounts and opted them all in for the beta, one with windows and two with mac specs, but still no luck.

    From what I've heard, mac users do not get invited to the first phase of beta. (That is unless you get invited cause you attended blizzcon) And all invites in the first wave have already been sent out, so if you didn't receive one yet, you're out of luck. Next chance is in roughly 2 weeks according to a bnet moderator.

    And about whether or not nvidia 9400 can handle it or not, no one knows yet unless someone in the beta has tried the PC version. It's probable that it will run it at very low settings, but huge armies clashing might cause spikes. I'm hoping it will suffice since I have a 9400 MBP myself.
     
  21. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #21
    The news that this game is finally in beta is wonderful.

    I have been a big fan of Blizzard games, and I have no doubt this one will no disappoint. :D
     
  22. neonkru macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #22
    I have an iMac 27 core 2 duo. i didn't receive the key. however i booted into bootcamp winxp and uploaded the specs using windows xp hoping for next phase.
     
  23. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #23
    IMO you'd have better luck if you just stuck with the mac specs. It might not be until a later phase, but the pool of mac users will be a lot smaller.
     
  24. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #24
    There's keys on eBay, selling for up to $200. Wish I had gotten one :p
     
  25. haiggy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #25
    Yeah this is true. I've read from blizzard employees the next "wave" will occur two weeks from the first one. Currently I have my bootcamp specs uploaded but I will be switching over to my OS X ones when an OS X client is available.

    To reply to the other guy with the 9400m and other people, I downloaded the beta client (*cough* I don't have a beta key *cough*) and people have figured out a way to kinda mod the game so that you can view replays. I just downloaded over 100 SC2 replays and have been watching them on my 3 year old 2.6 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 8600 GT 256 MB MBP. I am pretty pleased to say that in bootcamp I have no stuttering, no lag and no slow downs (even in big battles) with all settings on high. This is on my 24" monitor @ 1600x1200 32-bit. A new MBP should be more than enough to run the game on Ultra (which looks pretty bad@$$ btw).

    I'm thinking that I might get a performance gain by running the game in OS X as Blizzard typically does a great job with the games for OS X. My WC3 game runs better and faster it seems under OS X as compared to under bootcamp. I'm hoping this may be the case for SC2 as well.

    At any rate, a 9400m should definitely be able to play the game on atleast LOW settings (which don't look all that bad). My buddy has a 2 GHz Core 2 Duo, 1 GB RAM and an Intel 945M graphics card running WinXP and it plays the game fine all settings on low.
     

Share This Page