StarCraft patch 1.15.3 is available.

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by rbarris, Sep 11, 2008.

  1. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #1
    Key points in the patch:

    - OS 9 is no longer supported. OS X 10.3.9 is the new minimum for StarCraft.

    - the behavior where SC would crash at launch on OS versions that did not support 256-color mode has been addressed. Should now run on affected systems with NV 8600/8800 and X3100 graphics running 10.5.3 and 10.5.4.

    http://us.blizzard.com/support/article.xml?articleId=21149

    There is a separate patch for plain SC and one for Brood War - be sure to pick the right one and heed the installation instructions.
     
  2. jeffuwee macrumors member

    jeffuwee

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #2
    im just wondering but do mac starcraft players get to play with everybody like regular windows people? or is it only against other mac users?
     
  3. rbarris thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #3
    As with all of Blizzard's online games we establish and maintain cross platform play with each release and with all patches.
     
  4. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Totally. My buddy and I play online occasionally (I have my MBP running Leopard and he built his own machine which is running Vista 64).
     
  5. colocolo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    #5
    Thanks! At last I'll be able to play again!

    By the way, wasn't the crash issue supposed to be solved in 10.5.5? If so, what did you do? Raise the colors to thousands? And by the way, does this mean Diablo II will get a similar treatment?

    Kind of sad for the lack of OS 9 support though... poor old players have just been kicked out of Battle.net although their computers are able to hanlde Starcraft easily.
     
  6. thomahawk macrumors 6502a

    thomahawk

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Location:
    Osaka, Japan
    #6
    cool, i just hope starcraft 2 will be able to run on the x3100 graphics that the macbooks have..

    im having doubts that it wont work on it. soo i may have to wait a long time before i can play starcraft 2 with a newer computer
     
  7. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    I think OS 9 support was taken out of Warcraft III with the Intel patch. I seriously doubt there's anyone playing Starcraft on OS 9 anyway, especially on battle.net.
     
  8. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Is anyone still even using OS 9 period?
     
  9. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #9
    That answer is and always will be yes.

    'I swear DOS is the most stable operating system!'
    :rolleyes:
     
  10. dog24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Estonia
    #10
    The problem I have is that it now runs SC fine, but I cannot connect to the battle net on the expansion, says 'Unable to properly identify application version'

    Tried reinstalling it gazzilion times, Original SC works fine. And I can't find any info on how to fix that )=

    I have a legal copy, downloaded it from Blizzard store. This is just sad...
     
  11. DrD macrumors member

    DrD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #11
    Works for me! I was not able to play SC on an imac until now.

    Way to go Blizzard! I don't see a lot of other companies throwing support behind games over 5 years old, let alone Starcraft, which has hit 10.
     
  12. eyespii macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #12
    maintain aspect ratio?

    this might have been covered in a different thread, but how do you maintain the aspect ratio in starcraft? 640x480 is ugly enough stretched to 1920x1200, don't need to make it worse by distorting the aspect ratio!

    thanks in advance!
     
  13. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #13
    You might be able to do it by setting your display resolution to 640x480 before you start the game. Don't use stretched mode, and it may work.

    Another option is to play it windowed so it only takes up 640x480 on your screen. You can then use the Zoom from Universal Access to make it bigger on the screen. This option is less messy because you don't have to squeeze the OS down to 640x480 first.
     
  14. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #14
    Somethings messed up in your driver settings. The game didn't stretch on ALL Macs I've tried to run it on: iMac G5 17", MacBook, iMac C2D 17", iMac Alu 20". iMac Alu 24" (radeon). 4:3 ratio everywhere.
     
  15. Time Clock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Location:
    Hemet, CA
    #15
    How is the performance for older Macs running OS X? I have an iBook G3 500mhz with 640 mb of RAM with 10.4.11. Does running the game via hard drive as opposed to the CD make a difference? Am I resigned to OS 9? So many questions, so little time.
     
  16. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #16
    I played this game on an iBook G3 300 MHz under Leopard without any issues.
     
  17. chickenninja macrumors 6502

    chickenninja

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    inside my skull
    #17
    it should go full screen no problem, I dont see any ugliness just beautiful zerglings scampering about, i could just be blissfully ignorant. try squinting or taping your eyes
     
  18. Time Clock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Location:
    Hemet, CA
    #18
    Thanks. I had tried Starcraft in 10.4 before the more recent patches, but I got some pretty bad lag. It's good to know that it plays better now.
     
  19. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #19
    The version I used on iBook was 1.07 or something..
     
  20. Time Clock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Location:
    Hemet, CA
    #20
    Maybe it was my RAM then. I had only 256 mb at the time. All I know is that it ran tons better in OS 9 than OS X... although I managed to play through Warcraft III back when it was released. Different expectations maybe?
     

Share This Page