Resolved start fresh 3gs 5.0.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by error404, Aug 23, 2012.

  1. error404, Aug 23, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012

    error404 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    #1
    start fresh 3gs 5.0.1 (At&t)

    I want to format the phone and start fresh....(like if I was about to sell it) how do I do it? It's already jailbroken. I have SHSH from 4.1 all the way to 5.1.1


    Last time I used redsn0w, but I just updated from 4.1 to 5.0.1...

    thanks
     
  2. error404 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    #2
    One last thing...

    I just read:

    Could someone confirm this?

    I just upgraded my phone, so it's not longer under contract :eek:
     
  3. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #3
    http://www.att.com/esupport/article.jsp?sid=KB414532&cv=820#fbid=az_OYP98wut

    "General Eligibility Requirements for Unlocking iPhone
    AT&T will unlock an iPhone under the following circumstances:
    The person requesting the unlock is:
    a current AT&T customer or
    a former AT&T customer who can provide the phone number or account number for the account
    The iPhone was designed for use on AT&T's network;
    All contract obligations, including any term commitment, associated with the device to be unlocked have been fully satisfied; and
    The iPhone has not been reported lost or stolen."

    Why not go to 5.1.1?

    To restore 5.0.1 you need your SHSH and your APTicket for 5.0.1
    You need to stitch those to a custom firmware in redsn0w.
    iClarified.com has tutorials.
     
  4. error404 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    #4
    THANKS!!!

    At this point, I don't care if it's 4.3.3 , 5.01, or 5.1.1

    My phone now is DFU and I keep getting error 1601. 1602, or 21

    I already uninstalled itunes and installed it again :mad:
     
  5. TriJetHero, Aug 24, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012

    TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #5
    You need to edit your host file, 16xx error means it us still point to cydia for restores, fine for 4+ iOS firmwares, but for 5+ iOS firmwares it needs to point to apple again.

    Download TinyUmbrella.
    Connect phone to USB
    open TU
    in the advanced tab UNcheck Set host to Cydia
    Close TU (on windows restart pc)

    Now try again
     
  6. error404 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    #6
    Thanks, I'll try when I get home...

    I haven't check this site in a while... What program do I use to save my APTicket?
     
  7. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #7
    it's saved automaically by Cydia or by TinyUmbrella when getting your SHSH.

    If you don't have it now for 5.0.1 you can't get it anymore
     
  8. error404 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    #8
    i must have them then....

    btw I was able to install 5.1.1 thank!
     
  9. shariyar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    #9
    i hv iphone 3gs runnin ios 4.1 baseband is 5.13.04
    i tried updatin it to 5.0.1 i hv shsh n i unchecked d set to host option in tiny umbrella bt still no luck it showz error 3194
    wat to do ?? help plz
     
  10. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #10
    Again, since there is a untethered jailbreak for 5.1.1, why would you want to go to older firmware ?

    You must have both the 5.0.1 hash and APTicket files to restore to 5.0.1.
    They must be stitched to an IPSW for the restore to work.
     
  11. shariyar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    #11
    hash n APTicket ??
    whr will i get dat n hw do i stitch ??
    thanx
     
  12. shariyar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    #12
    5.1.1 can be unlocked to all network using ultrasn0w??
     
  13. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #13
    Unlocks are dependent on baseband, not firmware.
    You need to do a whole lot more reading.

    Jailbreak/Unlock chart
     
  14. shariyar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    #14
    bt hw do i stitch
    i tried via redsnow bt it give error "blob stitching failed memory exhausted"
     

Share This Page