Start up screens in leopard?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by applefan69, Mar 10, 2008.

  1. applefan69 macrumors 6502a

    applefan69

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Location:
    Medicine Hat
    #1
    Hey, this is a question about somethin im not sure if apple changed in leopard. As we know, OS X starts up with 3 steps

    1) white screen with apple logo
    2) Blue background, with white box in the middle and a blue bar showing progress
    3) Finallizing start up, and loading finder/desktop

    Well... I got myself a new macbook and got leopard both at the same time, now somethin I've noticed about my macbooks start up is it goes like this

    1)White screen with apple logo
    2) blue background flashes
    3) my desktop/finder loads

    Did, apple remove the white box with a blue bar that indicates progress? Or is my mac so fast I can't see it?

    Even if it is just a case of my mac being really fast shouldn't I at least see SOMETHING, cause my parents iMac (which is running Tiger) I see the white box, for less then half a second, (as in it just sorta flashes)...but with leopard on my macbook i dont see anything.
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Apple removed it.

    It was faked in Tiger anyway: it didn't show the progress at all. What Apple used to do was record the time the last boot took and that's how long the progress bar would take on the next boot. So often the boot would take longer or less time and the progress bar would look stupid. So they removed it.
     
  3. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #3
    That truly is a Demi God type answer. Well done Sir!
     
  4. zblaxberg Guest

    zblaxberg

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    #4
    Wow, thats very interesting. Didn't know that. That's kinda pointless if they were faking it, good job :apple:
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    They were certainly faking it. If you have a machine still running Tiger you can play around with it...
     
  6. soms macrumors 6502

    soms

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    Heh interesting, thanks for pointing that out:D
     

Share This Page