Start up sound went away, any idea why?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DonaldLynd, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. DonaldLynd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    St. Pete/Tampa, FL
    #1
    For some reason over the past week or so the start up sound on my AL iMac with 10.5.6 stopped. I haven't changed and preference, and its not on mute when I restart or shut down. I have also checked it with the my external speakers unplugged. Its not a major let down, but I would also like to be sure something is not getting screwy.

    Thanks for any info.
     
  2. bntz313 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  4. n8236 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #5
    I believe the "chime" sound level is connected to what sound level you have when in OSX. So you're muted in OSX, you've muted the chime sound too.......i think
     
  5. iStress macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #6
    Basically there are two sound presets on your iMac, one is with no external speakers plugged in, and one with external speakers plugged in.

    1) When your iMac is muted, with no external speakers plugged in, the will be no chime.

    2) When your iMac is muted, with no external speakers plugged in, and then you plug in the external speakers, there still won't be any chimes.

    In order to make the chime work, you need you unplug your external speakers, then turn up the volume on your iMac's speakers, and then plug your external speakers back in.
     
  6. DonaldLynd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    St. Pete/Tampa, FL
    #7
    Resetting the PRAM worked. Any idea why it stopped/changed? Just for future knowledge.
     
  7. iStress macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #8
    Okay that worked for you then :p

    I'm not sure why resetting the PRAM worked....I had an issue where my iSight camera screwed up (green screen) and when I turned off the iMac and unplugged the power for 15 minutes, everything returned to normal.

    I assume that resetting the PRAM resets the memory (I don't know which one) and everything returns to default.
     
  8. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #9
    Sometimes the gremlins and tommyknockers inside your Mac get along too well. Zapping the PRAM makes 'em fussy again, which is the chime you hear when you turn on the Mac. ;)
     

Share This Page